Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 03:22 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default Water-cooled folding rig

Hey guys;
Setting up the folding rig for water cooling. I ordered the EK Supreme and I got a backplate for it.

The backplate came with some spacers. I used them, and there was a little gap between the block's backplate, and the Asus' backplate on the back of the mobo (they call it the 'Stack Cool').

After mounting the block, there is no longer any gap and it looks like the water block's plate and the mobo plate are touching. There are no solder joints or anything touching though.

Is this OK? Will it cause a short?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 03:34 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

it's just a back plate your fine
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 03:38 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Both backplates are electrically isolated from the motherboard, so there will be no issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 07:05 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Already started a thread about my project so I figured I would post an update here.

Using a TFC Xchanger 360 rad, EK Supreme block, EK Multires 150, and the Swiftech 655 pump. Just cooling the cpu (i7 920).

Currently leak testing, powered by my external DVD enclusure (the 12v molex connector in the enclosure).

Here is what the watercooling loop looks like now:




Lots of paper towels lol. I am kinda worried, this being my first loop I have done myself.

If you see anything completely wrong let me know. No leaks so far...
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 07:29 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

nope looks good to me. but i like to run the pump to the rad then to the cpu block or which every block your using first if more then one.jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 07:50 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Pump to rad? I am planning on adding a video card in the spring. I thought the pump would have to go after the res, and the res should go after the rad.

As long as it works now. Still no leaks, about 1.5 hours so far. I'll let it run all night, and hope that Santa does not mess with the loop tonight when he stops by.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 08:00 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,490

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Pump to rad? I am planning on adding a video card in the spring. I thought the pump would have to go after the res, and the res should go after the rad.

As long as it works now. Still no leaks, about 1.5 hours so far. I'll let it run all night, and hope that Santa does not mess with the loop tonight when he stops by.
Haha, did Angie give ya crap when she came home to her kitchen table covered in paper towels and PC parts? As to what Ginger was saying, and your reply: It matters little which order you put components in, as long as the res is feeding the pump. Any other order is just personal preference.

Btw, I really like that 655 setup mounted to the HDD rails 'sideways'. I'll remember that next time I redo my loop. I guess the only downside is its hard to use the speed control if you want to
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 08:39 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

Looks good for me too.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 11:20 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
nope looks good to me. but i like to run the pump to the rad then to the cpu block or which every block your using first if more then one.jmo

That is an opinion a lot of us like to say/ go by. Truth is though, as much as we like to say it, it doesn't mater on the placement of the loop. Go with whatever looks the cleanest as the water will eventually regulate it's temperature.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2009, 12:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Looks nice.. HAF 932 FTW.. gonna be working on my loop too this weekend hopefully, similar loop, just a LGA775 build :p..

Nice build too, lots of white stuff, where can I get some, and the cost LOL :p.. Gotta say, leak testing done the right way, enough paper towels..

I actually admire you going for the EK supreme over anything else, even a heat killer.. very good block for the money..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water cooled q9650 temps bc_tileguy Water Cooling 3 May 23, 2009 11:34 PM
Water Cooled -NZXT Tempest jay51 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 48 October 3, 2008 11:26 AM
Antec 900 Water cooled....but need help oksir Water Cooling 9 August 25, 2008 10:25 PM
Water Cooled Tech Station chibi_man Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 88 July 31, 2008 04:34 PM
Water Cooled Case Gallery! cyberspyder Water Cooling 5 September 19, 2007 12:11 PM