Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 01:58 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default

I would mount the radiator externally, but there is no where to effectivly put the radiator without clearance issues or my kids and retarded cat mucking something up lol.

I checked what appeared to be a kink, but its an optical illusion lol. Guess Im going to get an antec 1200 or an HAF case after the new year. What burns my ass is this case is supposed to be watercooling friendly but its clearly not lol.

Thanks a bunch for the suggestions.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 01:59 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

Then i think you may need to go with a larger case, one designed to house watercooling
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:06 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

ambient is room temp you put idle temp ( maybe i am being think and can't see it )
and it simple you need fans with higher static pressure and don't pull. but if your coming from hdt tech then you may not to see a big difference.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:11 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

that and comparing air to water no good water removes the heat ( normally when mounted outside or on the top ) you can run under max load with almost no temp increase over time. where with air the whole case and components heat up too.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:16 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

I would move the rad to the outside or remove the top on your lancool ( I have one I know your pain there a bit1h to water cool) and place it there adn get some good fans cfm what matters. sorry i realized i was not helping very much ( if you have digital gauges it helps ) and yes ambient matter a lot.
edit even try having teh fans blow i always found worked better and you can just spin them
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:21 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

I agree that your problem is the placement of your rad. All the air from it looks to be getting trapped beneath your video card. If you could mount it in the top it would make a huge difference.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:30 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default

Guess im stuck with my current setup until after new year. Going to get myself an antec 1200 with a bigger badder radiator.So far the only thing swiftech seems to be good for is a pump and resevoir.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:40 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

Nothing wrong with your rad. It just needs to be in a better spot so it can do its job properly.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:45 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default

I wonder, would I lose performance if I went with a double thick 120mm radiator vs this thin 2 x 120mm radiator? Providing they are both in optimal environment and mounted properly?
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 03:17 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewer265@ View Post
Nothing wrong with your rad. It just needs to be in a better spot so it can do its job properly.
Bingo. You need outside air flowing over the rad, or at least exhausting it out of the case. I've always found that drawing exterior air over the rad works best for me. Your setup is just recirculating interior case air over the fins.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to check if CPU performing up to par? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 6 September 15, 2009 10:19 PM
New to water cooling; need help bkh2 New Builds 31 July 25, 2009 09:02 PM
New to water cooling SquattingDawg Water Cooling 30 July 12, 2009 04:40 PM
ASUS Unleashes Highest Performing Enthusiast Motherboard Lithotech Press Releases & Tech News 46 November 1, 2008 04:38 PM
New to water cooling coreyb Water Cooling 14 April 10, 2008 01:55 PM