Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 12:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,618

My System Specs

Default

Leak testing is for wussies. ; )

Seriously, if it ain't leaking now, chances it never will.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 01:09 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Leak testing is for wussies. ; )

Seriously, if it ain't leaking now, chances it never will.
Sig material.

I'll shake the loop around a bit to make sure that moving it around does not cause a leak, and to help shake some air loose.

I'll let her run until 8pm ish (that would give me 5 hours) and I'll start bringing her back to life!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 01:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,618

My System Specs

Default

This is how I go about a new wc setup.

Fill and bleed the loop. I rock the case in all directions, almost upside down (making sure the pump never misses any liquid).
Start pump, and I wiggle every single barb / hose connection. If using tye-wraps, I use those to induce movement.
Next I squeeze every hose to reduce the ID, and induce a higher flow locally.

If after that no leaks form, then it should be fine. I only had a single leak since wc'ing, and it was after many months of use (broken BP swivel barb C-ring).
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 01:36 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,930

My System Specs

Default

It if doesn't leak during bleeding chances are it won't be leaking later one.
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 10:02 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Here are some pictures of the new main rig. Included a couple of the ATCS for folks not familiar with it. A great case, but I had a bugger of a time getting the Enermax Revolution+ PSU in there.

She is folding now as we speak.
Attached Images
                 
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 10:08 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Nice clean loop. Those EK res holders are way better than the old style clear ones that I have. I like the ATCS, if I ever have some money to build another box for myself I got some ideas for a themed build.
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 10:14 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Nice clean loop. Those EK res holders are way better than the old style clear ones that I have. I like the ATCS, if I ever have some money to build another box for myself I got some ideas for a themed build.
Yeah its hard to see there, but I drilled a couple of holes in the drive bay, and attached an EK Res mount kit (pic below):
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2010, 12:20 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

I just noticed the update with pictures! Looks really nice! What's your i7 clocked at? Which fans? Temps? Details!! . I'm in the process of putting together my WC loop in my ATCS as well. I'll post up some picks when it's done in a few weeks, or when the apogee XT comes back in stock .
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2010, 12:54 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keywork View Post
I just noticed the update with pictures! Looks really nice! What's your i7 clocked at? Which fans? Temps? Details!! . I'm in the process of putting together my WC loop in my ATCS as well. I'll post up some picks when it's done in a few weeks, or when the apogee XT comes back in stock .
TBH I can't tell you what fans; Scythe is the brand, and there are six fans. The top three are 25mm, and the bottom 3 are thinner (I believe 20mm).

The above point is important, as there is not much room at the top-left of the case for 6 fans in a push/pull like I have; I had to remove a brace that comes installed in a case to get this installed, and it might be tough to get 6 25mm fans in a push pull with the remaining bracket you see in the pics. I can't tell you the dimensions of the rad, but its a HW Labs Black Ice SR1.

Got a 4.0GHZ on my i7 920, with temps reaching low/mid 60s on prime95, and low 60s folding.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Consumption Folder OR Part time POWER Folder ilya New Builds 3 May 16, 2010 03:33 PM
Home made i7 water block Lazypixel Water Cooling 30 March 11, 2010 06:57 AM
home made gpu water block Lazypixel Water Cooling 24 July 11, 2009 07:50 PM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 02:44 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 10:35 AM