Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 11:44 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

I would not be using a triple rad for just a cpu normally; I will be adding two video cards to the loop in the future.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 02:14 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
I would not be using a triple rad for just a cpu normally; I will be adding two video cards to the loop in the future.
460's dont count as 'adding to the loop' considering they fold at sub 60c temps :P
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 04:18 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
I would not be using a triple rad for just a cpu normally; I will be adding two video cards to the loop in the future.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
460's dont count as 'adding to the loop' considering they fold at sub 60c temps :P
Answer to both of these is you are not overclocking high enough.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 06:39 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Answer to both of these is you are not overclocking high enough.
My 460's wont do over 930mhz and thats at 1.2 Vcore!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 07:42 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
My 460's wont do over 930mhz and thats at 1.2 Vcore!
No matter what clocks mine are at they won't even run @ 1.212V. Lock up after a few minutes no matter what.
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 07:45 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Who knows; if the 460s I have run really cool, and I can't hear them over the rad fans, I might not stick blocks on em after all.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:03 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

They run cool, especially with the adv units. I tried 4 of them at once in bench and they only do around ~55C, 0.937V, standard SC clocks (763 Mhz) without a blower on top. I can't give figures inside a case since my 690 II can't accomodate all four of them. I'm waiting for a P50 so I can put all four of them online. Hopefully they won't roast each other
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:12 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I have 2 inside my case, both fold (one slot apart) at sub 60c. Usually closer to 55c depending on ambient.

You really don't need to WC them Chris, even in your apartment. They put sweet F-A out for heat. Save the cash. Trust me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:29 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
I have 2 inside my case, both fold (one slot apart) at sub 60c. Usually closer to 55c depending on ambient.

You really don't need to WC them Chris, even in your apartment. They put sweet F-A out for heat. Save the cash. Trust me.
This can't be on stock cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 12:33 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Leak testing right now. I like the look of compression fittings...too bad I did not have enough for the whole loop. The top makes the 655 pump look much better too (picture soon). I did have a leak straight away, due to one fitting coming loose while putting in another..noob mistake, but the leak did not touch any components.

I hear that 24 hours is suggested for leak testing...is it a terrible idea to go with just 6-7 hours?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Consumption Folder OR Part time POWER Folder ilya New Builds 3 May 16, 2010 03:33 PM
Home made i7 water block Lazypixel Water Cooling 30 March 11, 2010 06:57 AM
home made gpu water block Lazypixel Water Cooling 24 July 11, 2009 07:50 PM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 02:44 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 10:35 AM