Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 06:00 AM
Levesque's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 76
Default

I ususally rip all my loops apart once a year and clean everything with a tooth brush. :)

Every 6 months, I flush and rinse 3 times with distilled water. I now have a plug on the lowest line on all my loops to easily flush and rinse my loops.

I use a 6'' .999 true silver wire in every res I have, and 1 dop of Lugol/liter of distilled water. Loops are always crystal clear.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 06:56 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

I don't think I've ever had a system stay together long enough to need maintenance. Always seems to be something new that has me tearing everything apart anyway.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 07:01 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

this loop has not been in use long enough to need cleaning unless something was done wrong. so i am wondering why are you pulling it apart. and the easiest way to drain a loop is from it's lowest point what every that maybe ( pump form the looks of it ) just to let you know a good loop setup should not need any maintenance this early and if you are have temp issue's then you 'll need to pull the blocks apart.

I have seen crap in loops that are just nasty and if that gets stuck in the block yes normally hot water will work but not all the time.

still in puzzlement why you pulling this apart so early. ( unless your just turning into a water cool freak who needs new parts and the only way there going in there is under water so what is it ) have fun and try to remember paper towels can save your butt.

hint hint don't rock your case too much if you change parts as much as i do then the case is going to die from all that rocking if you can try running your loop outside of the case with stand alone molex power makes things real easy and yes daz i know about draining a loop from the res the only problem with that is have to rock the crap outta your case adn the rivets will come lose i know i have had it happen on every case i own. it has killed 4 cases already and now my haf

have fun chrisK that 's all that matters.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 08:52 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I was only going to pull it apart if I needed to for maintenance. I thought that after 7 months, it was time to do at least some minor work. I do want to change the fluid in one loop though. Temps are fine.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 09:10 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

only once a year do you need to change fluid if set up right or like i said if your temps start to go then some things up. but yes most of us do a flush every 6 months or so but it's really just a excuse to change other parts. which you are so have fun and just use a table,chair+bucket on chair then pop your pump off and away you go. watch rocking your case not kidding about all the cases i have killed.

stand alone molex makes bleeding a system easy as pie that's how i have been doing it now for almost 2 years because it just so easy to bleed the system with no parts in your way or if your using a "T" line getting air out is so easy.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 12:15 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Wow...those Temps are great Chris....I have made up my mind..I will be going to the "Dark side" this Fall.....will purchase parts throughout the summer in preparation...I've had it with Fans n Heat.
Intend to cool:
1. CPU
2. Evga X58 Classified mosfets / NB / SB
3. SLI GTX 480's

Total rookie guys, a few questions:
1. Is a single 360 Triple rad going to be adequate for the lot?
2. Should break it into two Loops?....1 Loop for CPU / Mobo and 1 Loop for GPU's?

I cannot fit a 360 Rad on the top of my Silverstone TJ090...only a 240..bummer I know...any other ideas for my Case or would I be better off going straight to a corsair 800D ?

I know..i'll start a new thread and PM Kruzin.....for help....a little excited about my decision....too bad thier wasn't someone in my area who could help me out with it...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 07:38 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

if you can't fit a 360 then run 2 x 220 rads if you can make it work i just think your asking a lot from 1 triple not sure though cause i am not sure of the heat output from your gpu's. good luck and are you sure that there's no one out there i thought there was?
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 08:00 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

one sure thing chris, your loop is clean and I LOVEEEEEEEE THAT! Glad to see that some people still love a non-light orled setup:)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 10:23 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,589
Default

One tripple for the 920, NB, SB and two 480s is going to push it. Most sensible people would put the 480's just on the 360.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 10:26 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

well that's funny cause most people over kill the rad big time now i too think that your asking a lot from 1 360 but 1 just for the 480's do they produce that much heat?
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Consumption Folder OR Part time POWER Folder ilya New Builds 3 May 16, 2010 04:33 PM
Home made i7 water block Lazypixel Water Cooling 30 March 11, 2010 07:57 AM
home made gpu water block Lazypixel Water Cooling 24 July 11, 2009 08:50 PM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 03:44 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 11:35 AM