Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 10:42 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

Seems like it. Tilt the case.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 11:17 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

I made some videos of everything I have been doing, with some question. They are uploading to youtube as I type... Might take some time though.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 09:15 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Video of just the Resivoir, pump, 480 radiator, cpu, and northbridge:
YouTube - Water Cooling Loop - Issues 2

Another Test. Everything but the 4870X2 block (excuse the comment I made about compression fittings... I ordered some 10 hours after this video was made... LOL):
YouTube - Water Cooling Loop - Issues 3
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 10:20 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

What barbs are you using on that koolance gpu block? They look like ek barbs which are too long and would explain your flow issues with the gpu in your loop. ie threads are too long and blocking flow
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 10:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I'm thinking it might be the dual rad there.. You know a 480 rad is plenty for that loop really..

I'd try flushing that dual rad of yours in the sink.. with some boiling hot water, to see if it flows properly..

Oh and worm clamps FTW..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 01:54 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Can you set it up in such a way that the res is the highest point in the loop until the loop is full? Ideally what you want (for the initial filling) is a loop where the backflow will not fill the res from the pump inlet line.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 07:17 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

As near as I can see, each time the fluid stops moving, it looks like the fluid level in the reservoir has dropped down to the height of the divider. Still think it's worth trying what I suggested earlier - run the pump, refill the reservoir (with the pump still running), seal the reservoir air-tight, and then cycle the pump off and on a few times.

Another option is to lay the case down on its side, twisting the reservoir so it's still upright, of course. It might simply be that long tube length going upwards that's causing the problems.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 08:14 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

as set up in your #3 vid best lay case on its side (MB downside) with your rez above rest of WC hardware shall be the fastest way to bleed that set up

note: i was seeing things that you ran pump dry! not a good practice for failure is ememint to cermic bearing

not filling how about closing the loop (not let it run in bucket)

reason is so much air still within system (air pockets) need to lay case down for water is heavyer than air

Last edited by KaptCrunch; November 15, 2009 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 08:33 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

I have some Swiftech ones that are really short - about two-and-a-half threads.

I am Ali thinking about all my other things using those EK Barbs. Are they restricting flow?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 08:38 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

If you use barbs with lots of threads in the koolance block it can block flow from getting into the block because of how thin it is. Anywhere else in your loop the EKs wont hurt anything.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loop help Lpfan4ever Water Cooling 12 September 22, 2009 06:22 PM
tri-fire loop, filling/bleeding vinister Water Cooling 17 May 18, 2008 10:30 PM
Free Space In Case Needs Filling ChuckleBrother Cases 9 May 14, 2008 04:37 PM
filling, bleeding and testing new loop magictorch Water Cooling 25 April 10, 2008 02:35 PM
My Soon-To-Be loop Kopi Water Cooling 5 October 23, 2007 12:49 PM