Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 09:38 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,691
Default

I doubt you need better pump then 655B for your set up.


I seems that something is blocking the flow and my money on air lock. I would try following:

1. Try to tilt case to the back so radiator will have more horizontal position (if there is air lock it should break). Squishing tube helps (just remove useless untikinking coils before squishing :)) Shake and bang the case. Switch pump off and on (with pause) to help with breaking air lock.

2. Double check that no tubing is simply bent

3. Start problem isolation. Bypass big radiator and see if that will work, then small rad.

Let me know..........
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video

Last edited by Dazmode; November 12, 2009 at 07:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 10:38 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

I just took the whole thing apart. Ill screw around with it tomorrow
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 05:17 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Is it safe to add distiller water to Feser One coolant? I am wanting to change my color to a brighter hue.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 06:38 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

That should be fine since Feser One is mostly just distilled water anyways. Generally when I am filling my loop I have to completely fill the res at least five times, between each time running the pump and tipping the case every direction, including upsidedown, on its front, on both sides and if on the back if possible. Remember that when the pump is off, the bubbles will always travel to the highest part, so you can maneuver the case so that the bubbles travel back to the res. And once it seems like all the large air bubbles are gone, the res will still need to be topped off in a few days from the smaller air bubbles stuck in the blocks. Just keep your eye on the res and make sure it doesn't drop too low. You can try running just the pump and each component separately to make sure there is no blockage in any of them, but generally that wont cause air bubbles since the air can get through a tiny gap.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 07:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 122
Default

My money is also on a leakage. as an easy test, the line that runs from the pump to the 480, take it off the 480, and put it into a bottle. fill the res, and see how fast the pump pushes the fluid into the bottle. Ill bet that there is a problem with that pump. Its showing basically no flow in that vid (well very very little). My 350 after doing the whole loop, rushes into the res. Like Daz said, time to start taking parts out of the equation.
__________________
AJ's Gamer, Finally finished!
Win 7 64 bit / Antec 1200 / E8400 EK Supreme LT / Xfx 780i SLI / Mushkin 6Gb EM2-6400 - Corsair 3 Fan Cooler / Corsair HX 1000W / 2xSeagate Sata II - Raid 0 / 1xSeagate Sata II - Storage and backup / 2xEVGA GTX285 1Gb- SLI Ek blocks / 2x240 Swiftech Rad, Full Push-Pull / MCP355 w/ Petra Top / Micro Res / Danger Den Fillport Blue / Matrox Digital TH2G / 3xSamsung 226BW's
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 07:53 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
Is it safe to add distiller water to Feser One coolant? I am wanting to change my color to a brighter hue.
F1 has carefully selected proportion of add-ons chemicals that supress oxidation and algae growth, by adding water you may make concentration too weak. It would be beneficial to add Feser Base to restore the balance.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 12:09 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

I plan on running everything through a closed loop going res > pump > part. Each one at a time. (with distiller water)
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 12:40 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Just wondering, what is the best way to set up the EK Res? I had it going out the bottom, the very bottom one, and coming in through the left side on on the acteal bottom piece. I do have G1/4" plugs that I can put on.

Standard Picture:
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 12:50 PM
rai_polo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 142
Default

Dude, what setting is you pump set to if it's the vario? That looks like a pump issue and since you have an aftermarket pump top you may have messed up the installation. You can either test it with a different pump or test your pump. If your in toronto I have a pump you can borrow.

HOlla.
__________________
Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 06:12 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,691
Default

You can set up EK res as you pleased. No rules. Some people mount it upside down from your picture, other use two bottom parts... This is truly universal res.

Setting inlet and outlet by different sides of divider at the bottom will reduce vortex effect.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loop help Lpfan4ever Water Cooling 12 September 22, 2009 06:22 PM
tri-fire loop, filling/bleeding vinister Water Cooling 17 May 18, 2008 10:30 PM
Free Space In Case Needs Filling ChuckleBrother Cases 9 May 14, 2008 04:37 PM
filling, bleeding and testing new loop magictorch Water Cooling 25 April 10, 2008 02:35 PM
My Soon-To-Be loop Kopi Water Cooling 5 October 23, 2007 12:49 PM