Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2009, 08:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ottawa
Posts: 5
Default Thoughts on dual loop TEC cooling.

I don't know if anyone has done this before but im thinking of using a Primochill Typhoon 3 to feed 2 loops, but with one of the loops being dedicated to TEC chilling.

Here is what i am thinking....

Loop 1
T3->CPU->Rad->back to T3 (on 1/2 tubing)

Loop 2
T3->Coolit Freezone-> back to T3 (on 1/4 tubing)

The idea being that the freezone chills the water and lowers the res temperature before it goes to the cpu and the rad cools the water down after the CPU before it goes back to the res. Running the freezone on 1/4 keeps the flow restricted so that it chills properly and running the CPU loop on 1/2 makes sure the CPU gets a good flow rate.

Anybody have any thoughts or suggestions on this??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2009, 01:10 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

That flowrate argument is flawed. The water may spend more time in the Freezone, but less water is able to get through where as 1/2in tubing would allow more water through. You'd most likely get the best temperature by doing:
Res => Rad => Freezone => CPU => Res as the water will be coolest when going into the CPU.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 03:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ottawa
Posts: 5
Default

thnx, think ill just stay with straight wc i guess
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 06:21 PM
rai_polo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
That flowrate argument is flawed. The water may spend more time in the Freezone, but less water is able to get through where as 1/2in tubing would allow more water through. You'd most likely get the best temperature by doing:
Res => Rad => Freezone => CPU => Res as the water will be coolest when going into the CPU.
What he said.
__________________
Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 09:34 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

reducing the hose size would increase pressure would it not? Not allowing the water to sit on the tec long enough to do much?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
chilling , dual , loop , tec

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TEC liquid cooling. Overclocker~4.1 Water Cooling 14 September 24, 2009 08:16 PM
Building WC Loop Soonish...thoughts? Neolithium_Wpg Water Cooling 16 December 11, 2008 08:52 AM
Dual TEC on 3870 x 2 Shredder Video Cards 2 September 3, 2008 01:22 PM
TJ-07 dual loop help.... turtletrax Water Cooling 17 August 13, 2008 05:56 PM
TEC Cooling chibi_man Water Cooling 10 November 9, 2007 05:40 PM