Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 02:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

posts #22-24, I can't really picture what you're saying.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 03:52 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
Can I have the pump without a base? Or will it shake?
If you run your tubing through the supplied holes just attach it a bit shorter so the tubing is holding the pump off the floor
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 11:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
Where would I put my pump and res?

I think I'd need both a new pump and res to comfortably do it. But for now it's all I got.

I can't really put the res and pump to close, since the tubing will kink.

thanks
Having the same issue's as me I see :)

Although it is a nice case Corsair could have put a little more thought into this case, but hey it's a dandy for their first attempt.
I've got a new 655 as well and the current plan is to install it in the same place as the 350 is right now, but on its side directly beneath the grommet with a loop on the discharge then out through the other grommet. It's not ideal but it will work until a better idea comes along. Also plan is to drill a couple holes up about two inches from where the res is currently located (maybe as I plan to get a bigger res.) :) Also plan to add 4 x 3.5" H.D.'s in the 5.25" bay area, so that area is spoken for.

You never want to have the pump above the res. even though it will pump after priming you will have a negative suction head which will affect the performance of the pump.

As a side note, just changed out the MCR220 you see for a Feser 360, when I opened the bleed valve on the res I was surprised to find the pump did not have enough discharge head pressure to fill the rad completely! Air was actually being sucked in!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 11:52 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Jmark;

Put a 90 degree fitting where the tube goes the hole and it'll work a lot better.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 03:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I think if he uses a 45 degree angle rotary fitting, might even work out better..

Seriously this is where a Micro Res rev.2 comes into play, the bottom port really would help out..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 03:48 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Seriously this is where a Micro Res rev.2 comes into play, the bottom port really would help out..
...Or connect pump directly to reservoir with male-male fitting, right through the hole.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2009, 10:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
I think if he uses a 45 degree angle rotary fitting, might even work out better..

Seriously this is where a Micro Res rev.2 comes into play, the bottom port really would help out..
Hey, I happen to have those parts so I may give that a whirl. Or direct couple it to the res. is also a good idea!

Thanks a lot for your suggestions peeps :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Obsidian 800D Owners Photo Gallery! FiXT Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 193 April 1, 2011 05:51 PM
So about the Corsair Obsidian, any good strategies for setting up a loop in that? Z Overlord Water Cooling 7 September 21, 2009 08:20 PM
Corsair Obsidian 800D - YouTube Special Sneak Peak FiXT Cases 23 September 7, 2009 08:43 PM
Corsair Obsidian 800D martin_metal_88 Cases 25 August 7, 2009 01:07 PM
Corsair Obsidian Series 800D steers Cases 45 July 12, 2009 01:47 PM