Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 08:07 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Get one of these. Un Designs Absolute REV3 Pump Mounting Bracket - Mounts Swiftech MCP655/355/350 & Laing D5/DDC/DDC+ - DirectCanada

Now you can rotate the pump and put it wherever you want. You could also get one of these NCIX.com - Buy Un Designs Z2 - Bracket - Mounts Any Un Designs Bracket & Pump to A 120MM Fan - Z2 In Canada. and hang it off any fan.

But I'd put the pump where MpG shows it, and the res in the drive bays. Simplest runs.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

I couldn't put the res in the drive bays since my funnel for putting water into res won't fit and I'd have no way to put the water in it :(

So I did this (attachment)

I personally think the pump and the res are flawed.

1. Pump cannot fit in the bottom compartment (it as designed to hold pumps as well as psu's)

2. Res is so unlfexible. I think a mountable cylinder res would do better imo.

Another issue is that the tubing is so thick, I had trouble putting the clamps on all the way on the gpu. It might not be on correctly, so I'm for sure leak testing it.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:26 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

No good. Your res outlet has to be higher than your pump inlet.

I did 2 things when my res was hanging in the drive bays of my 900. 1. Filled the loop, then used the L bracket to mount it. 2. Took the bulb off a turkey baster and used it as a long funnel.

And your pump would fit if mounted on it's side, which is possible with one of the UN designs brackets. I don't remember which one though.

And yes, I find you have more options with a EK or BP cylinder res.

You could also mount your res to the back plate. See red circles.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

It'd only be mounted by one hinge though, since the holes are too spaced apart.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:43 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

For what it's worth, if you stick a block or two under the front of the case to tilt it back some, you can probably fill the system just fine. It's only during the bleeding process that the reservoir needs to be higher than the pump - once everything is fully bled, that's no longer an issue as long as the reservoir outlet remains underwater.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Use velcro pads on the other bracket.. those extra strong ones, very reliable..

Since you have a rev. 2 res, you could even try to mount the res right above the pump.. and use the bottom port to the pump..

Btw slick setup, if that's primochill tubing, get some UV tubes, honestly the UV effect on those is very cool.. (I have blue primochill myself)..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

isn't bleeding emptying the loop? Not so fly on the terminology.

I need some better pump and rad setups.

My case is still new so people have not thought up of strategies for it yet I suppose.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Use velcro pads on the other bracket.. those extra strong ones, very reliable..
Bracket...? You mean the hinge for the res? Not sure what you're talking about.

Thanks for the ideas guys.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 10:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Yea that hinge.. I thought it was called bracket though :p..

Good Luck there..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 11:28 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
isn't bleeding emptying the loop? Not so fly on the terminology.
Sorry, bleeding means to run the system to get the air out of it entirely. Ideally, the air-water mixture enters the reservoir, but only the water goes back into the loop again. in practice, it can take a little bit before everything is fully separated. But that needs to be done before you leak-test everything, and definitely before you fully power up the system.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Obsidian 800D Owners Photo Gallery! FiXT Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 193 April 1, 2011 05:51 PM
So about the Corsair Obsidian, any good strategies for setting up a loop in that? Z Overlord Water Cooling 7 September 21, 2009 08:20 PM
Corsair Obsidian 800D - YouTube Special Sneak Peak FiXT Cases 23 September 7, 2009 08:43 PM
Corsair Obsidian 800D martin_metal_88 Cases 25 August 7, 2009 01:07 PM
Corsair Obsidian Series 800D steers Cases 45 July 12, 2009 01:47 PM