Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default How do I clean Waterblocks?

Setting up my new build, reusing water blocks. How do I clean them? I heard I was supposed to before redoing it. Do I have to remove the metal barbs?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 08:09 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Depends on what sort of gunk you've got in them. If nothing, a little distilled water will be fine. If you want to go to the trouble of taking the block apart, you wash the copper parts (and ONLY the copper) with a little vinegar or ketchup. That's usually just cosmetic, though.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 08:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

What kind of block is it? Generally, the best way to clean it is to take it completely apart so that you can clean the individual tines inside the block. If you can't (or don't want to) actually take it apart, I suppose you could just empty a can of contact cleaner into it.....
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 08:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

they seem clean to me, should I just not mess with it?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 05:08 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,678
Default

Yes, no need to over do things. If nothing inside sticking to the metal, you will gain nothing with your cleaning effort.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 05:15 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
Yes, no need to over do things. If nothing inside sticking to the metal, you will gain nothing with your cleaning effort.
+1to that no temp gains at all
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean LCD jay51 Display Units 49 October 4, 2009 11:42 AM
[WTB] NB and SB waterblocks WolfBane Buy/Sell & Trade 20 February 21, 2009 08:25 PM
[FS] Reno's Clean up Sale renoracer Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 27, 2008 02:14 PM
How Do You Clean Your LCD Monitor? mo' power Display Units 17 November 5, 2007 06:26 PM
Tips to clean radiator eagle_ Water Cooling 2 August 22, 2007 07:28 AM