Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 11:15 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default TEC liquid cooling.

Is it possible to have a LCS enhanced with a TEC that is not mounted on the cooling blocks? like have it mounted somewhere else on the loop?
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 05:33 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

think cool-it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 08:02 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Interesting. I didn't think of a design that way. LC heat sinks attached to the cold side of the TEC while a fan and fin setup is on the hot side.Hmm wonder if i can make an enclosure and custom fin-sink like that.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 09:10 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
think cool-it
Yeah. Its been done before.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 11:26 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

It's been done MANY times before and never works out as expected. The idea has pretty much been proven 'not worth it'. If you're looking for more cooling than typical water cooling look into phase change. You can cobble together a workable system for not much money if you scour the local appliance junk yard.... and if your handy with a torch.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 01:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Lol, wow. I thoght this died... anyway. I thought of phase change. but its tricky.and i dont like working with compressed gasses....i would do it, seeing as i have a spare mini fridge and freezer to work with. both working. but i wouldent know where to begin. that and condensation... i hate condensation.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 03:33 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

What's wrong with adding another block or two and a small rad to a coolit boreas 12 loop?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 05:16 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

nothing i think there are members here you have it modded
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 09:44 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Another block or to for what? I don't follow. And i was thinking of adding another Rad, a small one for the CPU, or simply a separate loop for the CPU.

@Gingerbee: And i don't follow you ether.....
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 09:56 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

A coolit boreas 12 is a beefy TEC cooler that comes with a CPU block and uses liquid (I just bought one)- they have enough cooling power to cool an additional pair of video cards if you add them into the loop along with a small radiator- with the added in rad, your idle temps tend to be a little higher (the cooler can bring water to near freezing temps)since you're pumping room-temperture heat into your liquid, but under load, the loop has tons of cooling power. The loop runs at low-flow so if you replace the stock pump make sure it has adjustable setting (MCP655)- the problem with the cooler is that they use more power than a standard water loop, and they are large and require mods to EATX cases to mount internally- there are modded versions of some cases (tj-07) that come with the boreas 12 already installed.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Self contained Liquid cooling Gtx 285/95's Technokat Video Cards 5 August 6, 2009 02:58 PM
Dry Ice and Liquid Cooling? CanadaRox Water Cooling 13 December 27, 2008 07:27 AM
TEC Cooling chibi_man Water Cooling 10 November 9, 2007 04:40 PM
Fear of Liquid Cooling Beermaster Water Cooling 29 June 4, 2007 11:14 AM
Ultra Liquid Cooling P4 1.7GHz to 5.2GHz BALISTX Water Cooling 2 March 12, 2007 06:16 PM