Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 07:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Exclamation EMI

Hi again folks!

I recently installed an WC cooling system on a mainstream PC.

Here is my stuff:

1 triple swiftech radiator
1 simple xspc radiator
the swiftech industrial pump with an XSPC tank.

3 scythe ultra kaze 120mm on a sunbeamtech fan controller
1 120 mm fan on the simple radiator.

and a few blocks...
^^

I have tested my memory a little with memtest, and no error.
But went I try with OCCT to test I always got error... on different core!
The thing is that I know that the overclock that I do don't need an increase in voltage.
You know I just play safe if everything is okay.
If I try on the stock clock I need to enable spread spectrum (It work!), otherwise I got error.

So where the hell could come those Electromagnetic Interference?
I will try to ''shield'' the surface of my waterblock with a plastic cover and on the heatsink that I putted on my southbridge.
I use non-conductive coolant by the way.

By the way I got a Msi 790fx-gd70 with a phenom II 720 Be!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 10:21 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Firstly, nothing plastic is going to do jack to stop EMI - metal or nothing. Preferably grounded metal at that. Secondly, are you absolutely certain it was stable before?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 07:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default re

Hi and thanks for the fast response!

Yes, It was stable before at the same place! Same room!
Tested this processor with OCCT high priority until 3,7 ghz at 1,41 volts if I remember correctly.
Was fully stable on stock voltage until 3,4 ghz.

Now that I have installed all my watercooling stuff

Could it be that my case is opened on bold side? that I got PSU wire on my desk?


PS: At the moment I am at 3,3ghz, I play game and everything is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 06:08 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default found

Simple bios update resolved the problem.

Know that is a Bios that I can't normally download via the msi website ^^ (via their FTP)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 06:15 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Nice board, nice to hear you solved it. Have fun!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EMI Filtering JD Power Supplies 9 January 29, 2009 06:12 PM
Acrylic case EMI/static discharge concerns serenity Cases 8 October 9, 2008 11:06 PM