Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 10:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
When leak testing with everything in the case do you unplug the motherboard 24+8pin? (& jump psu)
I use a PSU tester, and the on and off button on the psu.. nowadays most psus do come with a on and off switch..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 11:03 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

I have no external source, sold off all my spares. Need to get pump going without powering up system.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 11:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I have no external source, sold off all my spares. Need to get pump going without powering up system.
you only have 2 options, either get a psu tester, or jump the 24 pin.. you don't need to use the 8 pin, just don't have it connected to the mobo...
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 11:25 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

Roger, thanks.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 10:48 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yep just jump the psu.. here's a lnk for you if you need.

How To: Jump Start A Power Supply (PSU) / Test A Power Supply And Components - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 02:31 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Sorry one more question.. Is a single MCR 220 good enough to run an E8400 and a 4870 card. I will be cooling the 4870 with my EK FC block, and the processor with a D-Tek Fuzion v1. Pump is MCP655 and a swiftech res v2.

I'm not looking for extreme temps, just going to cool the e8400 to a little past 4.5ghz (just for benching), prolly around 4.0-4.2ghz for daily use..

Thanks..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 02:57 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

sure is
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 04:37 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

you'll have quite decent temps!
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 06:57 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Is a single MCR 220 good enough to run an E8400 and a 4870 card. I will be cooling the 4870 with my EK FC block, and the processor with a D-Tek Fuzion v1. Pump is MCP655 and a swiftech res v2.
That would depends on speed and number of your fans. MCR is a quite weak performer, but with enough air flow you can milk it for some performance.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 07:47 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
That would depends on speed and number of your fans. MCR is a quite weak performer, but with enough air flow you can milk it for some performance.
Compared to what?

They're a little more restrictive than most of the competition (still far less than any CPU/GPU waterblock), and I don't think their paint job is quite as durable, but the MCR's will dump heat with the best of them.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone ever tried routing their pc's heat? Z Overlord Cases 8 August 23, 2009 09:03 PM
Has anyone ever tried routing their pc's heat? Z Overlord Air Cooling 2 July 21, 2009 07:39 PM
Has anyone ever tried routing their pc's heat? Z Overlord Water Cooling 14 July 18, 2009 02:42 PM
Water Cooling Routing help - Two GPU and Chipset futures Water Cooling 6 May 20, 2009 02:19 PM
quick question regarding loop routing donimo Water Cooling 11 February 14, 2009 10:36 AM