Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 08:49 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hahaha. It's all good... been a while since I played around. The board I picked up supports ocing ram to 1300mhz... fastest ddr2 you can get. If it doesnt work out i'll toss it in the pvr and underclock it. Better than the 40 dollar ram i have in there atm. I'll just build a drip trap beneath the ram :P
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 08:57 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok so I've found a post on a random forum that mixing aluminium with copper is bad. The ram i'm getting is aluminium and the cpu cooler is copper. I also need to mix a northbridge waterblock into the equation if anyone has some suggestions. Needs to be 3/8 ID 1/2 OD

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 09:00 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

That is very common knowledge, it will make everything corrode. Don't bother WCing RAM!!!
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 09:02 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaDeS View Post
Ok so I've found a post on a random forum that mixing aluminium with copper is bad. The ram i'm getting is aluminium and the cpu cooler is copper. I also need to mix a northbridge waterblock into the equation if anyone has some suggestions. Needs to be 3/8 ID 1/2 OD

thanks.
We already told you so... alu. and copper don't mix, and will create galvanic corrosion.

NB block? Depends which baord you have, and most have threads for G1/4 barbs. You can pick your tubing dia.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 09:11 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

don't water cool the ram.. such a waste.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 09:16 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaDeS View Post
Ok so I've found a post on a random forum that mixing aluminium with copper is bad. The ram i'm getting is aluminium and the cpu cooler is copper. I also need to mix a northbridge waterblock into the equation if anyone has some suggestions. Needs to be 3/8 ID 1/2 OD

thanks.
MCW30

NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech MCW30 Chipset Waterblock for Most AMD & Intel Motherboards 1/2IN &3/8IN Barbs - MCW30 In Canada.

I agree watercooling the ram is a waste but each to their own.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 09:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Yep Antec Spot Cool does a good job.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 09:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
Yep Antec Spot Cool does a good job.
Corsair memory cooler is far better.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 09:35 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Welp i'm gonna have 2 pumps that would fit in my case If i needed to run a seperate loop. I totally understand everyone saying not to WC the ram... I'm curious how many people have actually tried. The deal is however..... i need the highest Mhz ram I can find without too much trouble. OCZ is it for the moment and if it turns out to be a total waste of time and money so be it I'll pick up the dominator stuff with the fan and settle for a lower overclock. This is an experiment of sorts due to being a bit of an AMD fanboy.

Thanks for the post on the northbridge post... i'll certainly look into that.

Cheers fellas!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 10:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Corsair memory cooler is far better.
Totally agreed.. Or even do a DIY, some screws, nuts, washers and 2 fans would do the trick easily..

Now I know you really want to cool that RAM Hades, but sometimes the safest root is the best.. And honest to god, your RAM just needs active cooling, and trust me.. you can 99% of the push it to the limits..

Cooling a RAM is do-able, but both a PITA, you need special parts (like you already know), tubes.. barbs for that.. And I highly doubt water cooling a RAM would give much more juice than an actively cooled (by fan) RAM..

But the decision is yours, you're the only judge, go ahead if you want, people will still help you if you get stuck.. for sure
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to water cooling; need help bkh2 New Builds 31 July 25, 2009 09:02 PM
New to water cooling SquattingDawg Water Cooling 30 July 12, 2009 04:40 PM
new to water cooling jay51 Water Cooling 13 June 22, 2008 04:10 PM
New to water cooling coreyb Water Cooling 14 April 10, 2008 01:55 PM