Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 07:45 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,451

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
You mean, you're letting a moving company handle your computer? That's just begging for trouble, if you ask me. You should at least handle your computer personally, water-cooled or not.
Eh. Its insured via the moving company. If they bust it, it just means they pay for it, and I get to buy new toys to build again
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 07:52 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Sounds safest to do it that way, but I've build this loop over and over at least 5 or 6 times when I first build the rig and I never leak tested, and never had a problem. Some may call it luck. I call it skill.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 08:49 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Just a tip, screw the fill cap or whatever super tight is going to be more problematic I'd say.

You'll totally squash the o-ring and it won't have a good seal. Should only make it hand-tight + 1/2 turn IMO. Could also get a wad of paper towel and tape it over it as well to prevent anything from leaking onto your components.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 02:27 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Good idea with the paper towels. I'm going to get a few sheets of papertowel, and make a nice thick blanket to go over the res, and just throw some elastics over it for the trip.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 02:52 PM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

I don't use a res for exactly that reason. The fill caps never seal well enough. T-lines for me all the way.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 02:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Just a tip, screw the fill cap or whatever super tight is going to be more problematic I'd say.

You'll totally squash the o-ring and it won't have a good seal. Should only make it hand-tight + 1/2 turn IMO. Could also get a wad of paper towel and tape it over it as well to prevent anything from leaking onto your components.
Absolutely correct. Never, ever screw a barb or cap very tight when an o'ring is used to seal. Doing so will only deform the o'ring, and leaks will start.

I never had the top cap leak on all the micro-res I've used.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 02:59 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Absolutely correct. Never, ever screw a barb or cap very tight when an o'ring is used to seal. Doing so will only deform the o'ring, and leaks will start.

I never had the top cap leak on all the micro-res I've used.

Hmm, back when I setup this loop I used a wrench to tighten the barbs on my waterblock and cpu block....

Its been almost a year and no leaks ever though... I must just be lucky. Or too gentle with a wrench
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 04:49 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Absolutely correct. Never, ever screw a barb or cap very tight when an o'ring is used to seal. Doing so will only deform the o'ring, and leaks will start.

I never had the top cap leak on all the micro-res I've used.
I found out the hard way on my new Dual-Bay DDC res, thus why I figured I should mention it
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2009, 07:33 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 741

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Eh. Its insured via the moving company. If they bust it, it just means they pay for it, and I get to buy new toys to build again
From what other people have told me about claiming for stuff that was broken during the move, you will have to PROVE they did the damage. If you can't prove it then you can't claim it. The moving company will do everything in their power to NOT pay out, be warned.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770 (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Intel X25-M 160GB, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2009, 08:34 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

^ 100% right
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC with Zero moving parts 486 Air Cooling 23 April 29, 2009 07:18 AM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 02:44 PM
Moving to i7... S_G New Builds 5 January 6, 2009 05:19 PM
Moving a PC tom.mullie Troubleshooting 22 August 30, 2008 10:26 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 10:35 AM