Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 04:38 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

use Macro
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 03:20 PM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 353

My System Specs

Default

Got the replacement cooler today, it works fine, but the damage caused by the leak was un-repairable. Video card is toast and the motherboard may be toast too. I figured the chances of the Video card pulling through were slim although I was hopeful. When I tried the card today it didn't boot and I got the two beeps from BIOS indicating bad VGA. What I wasn't prepared for was that I now can't seem to get the onboard video to work either in both cases teh monitor tells me to check my connection.

Oh well atleast I have a reason to upgrade now.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 08:52 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Situations like these bring me peace of mind that I didn't keep my Domino ALC or any form of liquid cooling and went back to air cooling. I am not in the financial position to afford such an expense or risk, just the thought right now of something breaking is stressing enough.

Despite that....keep us posted Pelt, maybe post a worklog/build of the new toys you pick up.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 09:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 61
Default

wow thax sux dood
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 07:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I guess this is the chance we take for those of us who use any type of liquid cooling. I'm still using the original Coolit Freezone. I was amazed at the results on my C2D and plan on upgrading to Freezone Elite. This is the first time I've heard of one of their products springing a leak but it won't deter me from purchasing from them again.
Sorry for your loss.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 10:16 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

I was always wary from pre-filled sets.... Sorry to hear you got in trouble with leaking of the unit.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 09:26 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Man that really sucks, sorry to hear that.
I was looking at the Corsair cooler but second guessing it now.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 09:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

I have a brand new Domino that I was planning on using on a upcoming q9550 build. I've always air cooled before as I "usually" don't OC. So I might sell my Domino and stick with Noctua.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 07:38 AM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 353

My System Specs

Default

Water cooling has many advantages, superior cooling to air and can be setup to be virtually silent. Disadvantage is ofcourse a possible leak. The Domino is still a great product and so are most of the Coolit line. I think the problem with the Domino is the connections and the tubing itself. It is very rigid, therefore not much room for flexing. So if your like me and upgrade your computer a few times a year or month you'll end up moving the cooler around alot while it's still in the case so there is a chance you'll fatigue the joints, this is especially true if you have a smaller case because you'll have jinks in your tubing.

According to some of the research I've found on the net this was a problem discovered by a review site,(can't recall at the moment) but they told Coolit of the problem and Coolit has since beefed up thier connections but use the same tubing. Keep in mind my leak happened and the joint between the radiator and the return tube.

I've got nothing but praise for the folks at Coolit and I would definately try watercooling from them in the future, but I'm leary of the coolers that use the rigid tubes and plastic barbs.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coolit Domino martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 1 April 23, 2009 12:51 PM
[FS] CoolIT Domino ALC $50+shipping cosmetic damage b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 2 March 25, 2009 07:25 PM
[FS] Mushkin pc2-8000 2x2gb/coolit domino alc b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 14 February 6, 2009 01:06 PM
Coolit Domino Eagle Eye Water Cooling 19 January 20, 2009 04:20 PM
NCIX Tech Tips #20 - CoolIT Systems Domino ALC & Sub-Zero Cooling Linus Water Cooling 16 January 7, 2009 07:54 AM