Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 07:46 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default All in one CPU water cooling

Hey all, a few questions to the owners of some of those "all in one" closed loop cpu watercoolers:

1 - Coolit Domino Owners: can the control module on the side be moved anywhere or switched sides on the unit?

2 - Other than the Domino, what would be the next best performing kit that has a low profile cpu waterblock (not like 1U/2U low profile, but short if it has an integrated pump)

thanks for the help guys/gals.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 10:39 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,928

My System Specs

Default

I think the Corsair H50 is the only other contender, and I'm not sure if that will meet your height concerns.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 10:49 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I know Asetek has some products simliar in nature, not sure if thats what you're looking for.

NCIX.com - Buy Asetek LCLC PRE-FILLED Liquid Cooling System CPU Block Pump 240MM Radiator No Mounting Hardware - 35-101-1012200 In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy Asetek LCLC PRE-FILLED Liquid Cooling System CPU Block Pump 120MM Radiator No Mounting Hardware - 35-101-1012103 In Canada.

Edit...now that I compared the two, looks like Asetek and Corsair where working together on this one, near identical to the 120mm version.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 11:10 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Actually it looks like asetek is Making the corsair... but still, either seem an interesting alternative. Does anyone have either the Asetek LCLC or the Corsair 50? IF so, could you pleasue measure the height of the pump/block combo? thanks.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 09:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,928

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Actually it looks like asetek is Making the corsair... but still, either seem an interesting alternative. Does anyone have either the Asetek LCLC or the Corsair 50? IF so, could you pleasue measure the height of the pump/block combo? thanks.
Corsair claims to have worked with Asetek to design a better head than Asetek's own unit. So in theory, the Corsair should be better.

Martin Metal has one: Corsair Hydro H50 CPU cooler
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 09:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,657

My System Specs

Default

Try to find a Swiftech H2O-120.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 09:17 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Yep I have one what you want me to do with? there are the mesure
H : 11CM
L: 13CM
D: 5 to 7.5 depending on the fan config ( 7.5 with push pull )
These are not really precise mesure I take them in like 5 second but I have to unmount it this week to place it on my new ATCS 840 so I will be abble to mesure it again with better tape and also try it with AC5 thermal paste.

Ask if anything more is needed about the cooler.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 10:06 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
Yep I have one what you want me to do with? there are the mesure
H : 11CM
L: 13CM
D: 5 to 7.5 depending on the fan config ( 7.5 with push pull )
These are not really precise mesure I take them in like 5 second but I have to unmount it this week to place it on my new ATCS 840 so I will be abble to mesure it again with better tape and also try it with AC5 thermal paste.

Ask if anything more is needed about the cooler.
So you mean its 110mm tall from the cpu? Owch.... That would be impossible to fit in The Dark. The case Im building into is a Silverstone Sugo-03, which has about 80mm or so of clearance from the cpu to the back of the PSU. Might have to go for the Domino, unless I can find the Switech kit... but I cant seem to find it anywhere? Hmmm....
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 10:29 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

no no no the pump is lie 5 CM tall from CPU, these mesure are only the rad and the reservoir. Has I tell I'm waiting my ATCS 840 wich should arrive on today or tomorrow to be abble to take a better mesure of everything.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 10:34 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
no no no the pump is lie 5 CM tall from CPU, these mesure are only the rad and the reservoir. Has I tell I'm waiting my ATCS 840 wich should arrive on today or tomorrow to be abble to take a better mesure of everything.

Ask for more.
Ahhhhh, 5cm = 50mm = well within my height requirement for that case. Do you think the tubing that exits/enters from the block/pump combo will kink if only given 3cm to turn 90 degrees? I believe one of the sides of the block was "opened" to allow the tubing to bend more easily. Could you check though martin metal? thanks.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to water cooling; need help bkh2 New Builds 31 July 25, 2009 08:02 PM
[WTB] water cooling + s939 x2 cpu. upsidedown Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 10, 2009 10:07 AM
<<FOR SALE>> CPU, GFX, RAM, HDD, Air & Water Cooling NewHall Buy/Sell & Trade 24 October 10, 2008 03:24 PM
new to water cooling jay51 Water Cooling 13 June 22, 2008 03:10 PM