Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 02:37 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

N'importe quand. ;)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 08:07 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

Working fine now.
I did a quick OCing like 11 x 300. The CPU temps is about 10 C lower compare with the Ultra TEC. I ran 4 instances of Prime95, CPU and memory at 100% and CoreTemp is 65C after an hour.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 09:10 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,917

My System Specs

Default

The absolutely easiest way to get air out of a setup is adding a res, I went for 3 years with T-Lines and finally tried a res, and wow what a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 09:33 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois methot View Post
Working fine now.
I did a quick OCing like 11 x 300. The CPU temps is about 10 C lower compare with the Ultra TEC. I ran 4 instances of Prime95, CPU and memory at 100% and CoreTemp is 65C after an hour.
Though I know nothing about quads, 65C is high. What's your voltage set to in the BIOS?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2007, 06:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

1.4 volt. The voltage is increase each time I am not stable with Prime during the OC process.
Always hot, not matter what!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2007, 06:34 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
The absolutely easiest way to get air out of a setup is adding a res, I went for 3 years with T-Lines and finally tried a res, and wow what a difference.
It took me 30 minutes of short burst and some little shaking on the tube to force the bubles to go up in the Y...
Now there is none.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2007, 07:34 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois methot View Post
1.4 volt. The voltage is increase each time I am not stable with Prime during the OC process.
Always hot, not matter what!
Woa. Only 1.4V and 65C? Are you sure the block is seated properly on top of the CPU?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2007, 07:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

yes, the bloc is well seated. The Quad always get hot.

Maybe there is something wrong, is somebody get better CoreTemp reading at 3.3 GHz working at 100%?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2007, 07:23 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois methot View Post
Maybe there is something wrong?
Maybe, maybe not. Like I said, I don't know anything about Quads. If it does run hot, you're on the 65C limit...

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois methot View Post
is somebody get better CoreTemp reading at 3.3 GHz working at 100%
any other software that can read Quad temps?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't remove my side panel... Slinger Troubleshooting 5 February 29, 2008 10:26 AM
What tube is this? biff Water Cooling 4 February 1, 2008 10:30 AM
Do i need to remove V-droop with the voltage dampner magictorch Troubleshooting 1 January 19, 2008 06:16 PM
Air Pressure inside of Antec P182? Falcon Water Cooling 9 December 30, 2007 10:15 PM
Gaming Laptop roundup by Inside HW Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 13, 2007 08:37 AM