Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 10, 2009, 06:41 AM
Hall Of Fame

Default Making the step to watercooling, starting easy

I've been doing some final tweaks/upgrades on my current gaming rig, and the last thing I plan on putting into it is a decent water-cooling setup. I'm not ready to drop $1500 on a custom loop, and since this is my first time doing the water thing, I want to start easy. With just a ready-to-go kit.

I'm not looking for phenomenal cooling properties, just something that can beat my CoolerMaster V8 - in both temperature decrease, and noise I will be putting it on a Q9950, and am looking to overclock atleast to 3.2GHz, more would be nice, but by no means, am I aiming for 4GHz+.

I'm mostly doing this because I am starting to get more comfortable with working hands-on with the inside of a computer. Im no technician, or engineer lol, but I enjoy the work - it's fun. Also, watercooling looks cool.

Right now, I am looking at the Coolit Domino A.L.C. They claim it is maintnence-free for 5 - 7 years, and 3DGAMEMAN Rodney Renolds says it's pretty good - and it's $100 (shipping/tax inc.) Also, I havn't read anything on leaks yet.

Right now, I'm just asking the HWC community to see if there are any other drop-in kits that are pretty good. I'm not looking to spend alot, and the cheap $100 on the Domino is nice, but if something floats my boat, Ill buy it.

Post some stuff here, links would be nice.

Thank you.
Old July 10, 2009, 06:46 AM
Quadfather

My System Specs

That dude is still around? Shouldn't he have gotten put out of buisness yet for ripping off other sites? oh well... We can only hope.

For $100, you probably can't get a better watercooling setup. I enjoy Coolit products and have never had an issue with any of them. Have fun OCing!
Old July 10, 2009, 06:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs