Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 6, 2009, 12:15 PM
Top Prospect

Default Newbie, about to add water.

Hi guys, very new to this forum. My background is im just getting back into the whole PC modding game. Used to mess with 200mmx's etc back in the day.... So its all new to me again. Im a big keener on car racing sims and FPS like Crysis, and this is what i use the computer 90% of the time for.

I am jumping into Water Cooling. Im WCing the PC i bought about 2.5 years ago from Memory Express here in Calgary. Specs, as i can remember -

Sonata III case - 500W PS
EVGA 680i LT SLI
Mushkin EM2-6400 6GB (2x1 and just added 2x2 ready for when i upgrade the OS)
Core Duo 2 E6750 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS 512Mb

And thats about it. Since then ive got a 750W PS in the mail, possibly a second 8800GTS 512 so i can go SLI, and like i mentioned i just put in the 2x2gb ram. I also ordered this -
Liquid Cooling Special (CL-W0075 + CL-W0038 + CL-W0009) (Brand New)
Hoping it would be a good start in the WCing world. Since then ive decided to look into a full cover WB for my cards, Ill sell off the VGA cooler, and I also bought a second hand 120 rad off ebay to add to the cooling. After also looking at a tonne of setups, im thinking id rather have the res higher in the case and the pump bolted to the base. Has anyone used one of these TT pump/res setups? Im wondering if its possible to use a different res and change the input to the pump and run a line from another res? Also my system is going to be 3/8th tubing, with my equipment, is there a need to go to 1/2"?

Im interested in opinions (altho ive read a tonne!) on the EK full cover WB and the Danger Den Ione block. I love the look of the Ione, if anyone has 1-2 for sale please let me know!