Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 03:34 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default RAAGE @ GTZ

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

Yeah I pulled a few hair out with my GTZ a few weeks ago. Currently waiting for my EK Supreme LT to arrive. Hoping that it'll improve the temps.
This GTZ was able to keep the Q6600 at 1.57v at bay under 60C. Now it can't even handle a puny Q9450 at 1.25v. Load temps on this guy goes over 62C. THESE ARE IDLE TEMPS
Probably will take it out for a deep inspection to see if the pin matrix is clogged.
Tried remounting a few times, no dice. Any suggestions?



__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 04:01 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

sorry i just don't see what the problem is load of 62 is fine ( and the gtz blocks do get clogged pretty easy i clean mine every 6 months)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 07:20 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Yeah, I'll grant that your temps seem abnormally high for a 45nm CPU at those clocks. Just to cover the obvious points:

-Check for clogging?
-What's the thermal paste print look like?
-Abnormally high room temperatures?
-Got the inlet and outlet correct on the block?
-Did you change your fan configuration to something odd (say, all intake or all exhaust) that would muck up the radiator's ability to keep air moving through it? Have the liquid suddenly been getting abnormally warm?
-If the pump has an rpm sensor, are the rpm numbers good?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 02:01 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Yeah, I'll grant that your temps seem abnormally high for a 45nm CPU at those clocks. Just to cover the obvious points:

-Check for clogging?
-What's the thermal paste print look like?
-Abnormally high room temperatures?
-Got the inlet and outlet correct on the block?
-Did you change your fan configuration to something odd (say, all intake or all exhaust) that would muck up the radiator's ability to keep air moving through it? Have the liquid suddenly been getting abnormally warm?
-If the pump has an rpm sensor, are the rpm numbers good?
-Will do
-Thermal Paste print looks normal, good coverage
-room temp is low
-all correct
-no changes from the Q6600 to Q9450, just popped a new CPU in
-Pump has the same flow as before, I can see it from my TO res

Thanks for the suggestions. I'm getting rid of this block anyways, so I'm gonna pop it open and check.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 02:21 PM
Sadasius's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 156

My System Specs

Default

I would check to see if there is a difference in height with the IHS. The GTZ can only go so far and if you lap it you will lose even more clamping force. So if the Q6600 is slightly thicker it may have had more clamping force then the Q9450.
__________________
Black Phoenix CPU-Z Validation
Code:
 Q9650 @ 4.05 Ghz (9x450) / 4 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix @ 1800 Mhz / 3870X2 / Ultra X3 1000/Maximus Extreme X38 / Thermaltake Xaser VI custom watercooled with black powdercoat. Click above for pic!
San Ace Awesomeness!
San Ace Awesomeness Part II!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 02:23 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Yep, that's the issue with mounting pressure as well.

I was adjusting the mounting arms of the GTZ to get more out of it
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 03:05 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,091

My System Specs

Default

Jackie, if you've ever run any colored fluid through it, take it apart and clean it. They all seem to leave some gunk on the blocks. It's very easy to take apart, if you have the correct sized Allan key.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 03:24 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Jackie, if you've ever run any colored fluid through it, take it apart and clean it. They all seem to leave some gunk on the blocks. It's very easy to take apart, if you have the correct sized Allan key.
No one needs Allen keys when I have a Pipboy3000.

Yeah that's the sad part, I use Feser view dye, and I can put 10$ on the fact that it clogged some pins.

Time to buy some 7 up
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Swiftech GTZ 775 mount Jackquelegs Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 29, 2009 08:08 PM
GTZ LGA1366 Adapter SugarJ Water Cooling 7 February 13, 2009 07:47 AM
Where the $%^$ is my GTZ 1366 adapter?!? Babrbarossa Water Cooling 83 January 31, 2009 11:15 AM
HWC, do you have an Apogee GTZ yet? tfran Water Cooling 14 August 19, 2008 11:47 PM
New Block coming... Apogee GTZ MpG Water Cooling 1 August 4, 2008 02:10 PM