Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 06:54 AM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quikgp View Post
I haven't lapped the CPU, and I didn't ever plan on it. I was refering to the base of the GTZ itself. It seems very dull and lacked the mirror finish it once came with.

that being said about the "clamping force", I did feel like after I switched brackets on my GTZ (775 to 1366) it seems like it never really clamps completely.
I completely forgot about that!....yup, that could be the problem right there
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 06:58 AM
Sadasius's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 156

My System Specs

Default

Just tell Gabe to help you out or Sadasius will make his wife blush again!
__________________
Black Phoenix CPU-Z Validation
Code:
 Q9650 @ 4.05 Ghz (9x450) / 4 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix @ 1800 Mhz / 3870X2 / Ultra X3 1000/Maximus Extreme X38 / Thermaltake Xaser VI custom watercooled with black powdercoat. Click above for pic!
San Ace Awesomeness!
San Ace Awesomeness Part II!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 07:02 AM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

btw Sadasius...welcome aboard and SWEET looking job on your rig!!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 07:09 AM
Sadasius's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 156

My System Specs

Default

Thanks ! Like it here very much and the people here rock!
__________________
Black Phoenix CPU-Z Validation
Code:
 Q9650 @ 4.05 Ghz (9x450) / 4 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix @ 1800 Mhz / 3870X2 / Ultra X3 1000/Maximus Extreme X38 / Thermaltake Xaser VI custom watercooled with black powdercoat. Click above for pic!
San Ace Awesomeness!
San Ace Awesomeness Part II!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 08:33 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't put too much stock in idle temps, your load is what really matters, I suspect I need to attempt another mounting:

i7 920 C0@3.8Ghz HT On
Idle: 44/45/43/40
Load: 66/63/66/62

I am really frustrated, I had better temps with just the PA120.3 in the damn loop, I really have to assume this is a function of lowered flowrate as even at setting 5 on my pump the water is not flowing as freely as it was without the MCR220 in the loop.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 08:44 AM
Sadasius's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 156

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckleBrother View Post
I wouldn't put too much stock in idle temps, your load is what really matters, I suspect I need to attempt another mounting:

i7 920 C0@3.8Ghz HT On
Idle: 44/45/43/40
Load: 66/63/66/62

I am really frustrated, I had better temps with just the PA120.3 in the damn loop, I really have to assume this is a function of lowered flowrate as even at setting 5 on my pump the water is not flowing as freely as it was without the MCR220 in the loop.
What's your loop? List everything! Idle temps are a great indicator of flow problems. For instance my idle temp is 29C with OC in sig....Water temp on Pump #1 26C and #2 26.5C and ambient of 23C.
__________________
Black Phoenix CPU-Z Validation
Code:
 Q9650 @ 4.05 Ghz (9x450) / 4 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix @ 1800 Mhz / 3870X2 / Ultra X3 1000/Maximus Extreme X38 / Thermaltake Xaser VI custom watercooled with black powdercoat. Click above for pic!
San Ace Awesomeness!
San Ace Awesomeness Part II!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 08:49 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

In the loop:
920@3.8Ghz
4870x2
MCR220
PA120.3
D5 w/EK X-Top Rev 2

The only addition from it's old form is the swifty rad, my temps were roughly the same and I got to run the pump at setting 3 rather than 5(current). I can only assume it's a flow issue as the res is not showing as much movement as it did on setting 3 without the MCR220. Starting to wonder if while installing the pump I accidently turned it down a few notches(hard to check).
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 08:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckleBrother View Post
I wouldn't put too much stock in idle temps, your load is what really matters, I suspect I need to attempt another mounting:

i7 920 C0@3.8Ghz HT On
Idle: 44/45/43/40
Load: 66/63/66/62

I am really frustrated, I had better temps with just the PA120.3 in the damn loop, I really have to assume this is a function of lowered flowrate as even at setting 5 on my pump the water is not flowing as freely as it was without the MCR220 in the loop.
hmm those temps are almost identical to mine. but your system is OC'd.

What rad are you ussing?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 08:52 AM
Sadasius's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 156

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckleBrother View Post
In the loop:
920@3.8Ghz
4870x2
MCR220
PA120.3
D5 w/EK X-Top Rev 2

The only addition from it's old form is the swifty rad, my temps were roughly the same and I got to run the pump at setting 3 rather than 5(current). I can only assume it's a flow issue as the res is not showing as much movement as it did on setting 3 without the MCR220. Starting to wonder if while installing the pump I accidently turned it down a few notches(hard to check).

Do you have room to add another pump with the same top? If so the flow would dramatically improve. What fans are you using and in what configuration and rpm range?
__________________
Black Phoenix CPU-Z Validation
Code:
 Q9650 @ 4.05 Ghz (9x450) / 4 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix @ 1800 Mhz / 3870X2 / Ultra X3 1000/Maximus Extreme X38 / Thermaltake Xaser VI custom watercooled with black powdercoat. Click above for pic!
San Ace Awesomeness!
San Ace Awesomeness Part II!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 08:58 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Scythe S-flex F's @1100RPM, previously my rig was running them at 900RPM and had better temps with the single rad....I'm sure there is something wrong here, I just don't see any way a single MCR220 could be this restrictive with my pump running full out.

Edit: While my flow MAY be lower than expected, I think I found my real issue. My fan controller(BigNG) was getting no signal and was defaulting to 50% fan speed because of this. This was resulting in 550RPM on my triple and ~600RPM on my double with my back fan not providing any fresh air to the double rad. Highest temp I am hitting now at load is 64(not going over 70 anymore!)
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"

Last edited by ChuckleBrother; June 11, 2009 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water cooled q9650 temps bc_tileguy Water Cooling 3 May 23, 2009 11:34 PM
Water Temps seem...high. Sagath Troubleshooting 4 April 6, 2009 06:27 PM
Raid or ssd for 150$ (average) Mavvens Storage 21 April 2, 2009 08:10 PM
i7 920 temps SynCroNiz3 CPU's and Motherboards 11 March 23, 2009 08:36 PM
Is this an average OC for a 9800GTX+ SC? Gameplaywarrior Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 October 16, 2008 03:53 PM