Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 12:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

but what about the other Q's I had like the Rad Box? Do you still need it if I'm mounting inside? It's my list I'm worried about. I want to remove unnecessary stuff from it, budget is somewhat tight.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 12:55 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

Skip rad box. It helps ^ fan performance.

Time to order...
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 01:17 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
SugarJ -- nice rig.
Thanks Daz. That's the old build, my Cosmos is much nicer. I should put some pics in the pic thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
but what about the other Q's I had like the Rad Box? Do you still need it if I'm mounting inside? It's my list I'm worried about. I want to remove unnecessary stuff from it, budget is somewhat tight.
Radbox is not necessary for internal mounts, but you'll have to come up with some brackets like I linked earlier.

And those barbs are correct for 1/2" tubing, but Bitspower barbs are WAY better, IMHO. Bitspower G 1/4in. Silver Shining Fitting for 1/2in. Tubing #BP-WTP-C01

As for the spotcool, it's not necessary if you have decent airflow over your mobo with your rad mount. With my 900, I was pushing air through the rad, over the mobo, and exhausting with the top fan. I never found I needed my spotcool, but your mileage may vary.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 01:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

and the rad comes with stuff for mounting right?

does side winder ship to the US or only CAD?

And for the gpu I plan on using the back plate (this guy calls it the Red Plate) for the VRM's and memory. He did it with his 4890.

Last edited by Z Overlord; June 19, 2009 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 03:37 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Actually, Sidewinder is based in Indiana, so worries there. They just happen to do a great job of shipping to Canada.

If you're still looking at the Swiftech radiator (I'm kind of losing track here), then yes, it comes with mounting screws for the fans.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 03:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Actually, Sidewinder is based in Indiana, so worries there. They just happen to do a great job of shipping to Canada.
Oh so Sidewinder can't ship to US? Darn...Should I just get the stuff at NCIXUS? They're fittings are like $12 there V_V

And cause I'm using the back plate of my video card to cool the other stuff aside from the gpu, do I still need the fan?

Last edited by Z Overlord; June 19, 2009 at 05:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 04:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

better pic:



see the back plate (red).



I'll put the gpu block on the gpu (duh lol), and do I HAVE to put the fan on it's assigned spot (triangle shape).

Last edited by Z Overlord; June 19, 2009 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 06:21 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
Oh so Sidewinder can't ship to US? Darn...Should I just get the stuff at NCIXUS? They're fittings are like $12 there V_V
No, I'm talking about the state Indiana. For you, it wouldn't be international at all, you've got nothing to worry about.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 08:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

oh lol thanks. So do I really need the fan for my card? I would prefer it wouldn't.
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 08:47 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

As long as you've got some case airflow moving over the metal, you should be just fine.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
attempt , block , cooling , firts , water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First attempt at Overclocking my E8400 Mishtar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 14, 2008 11:24 AM
First attempt at building a computer! fawconpunch New Builds 6 June 28, 2008 07:42 PM
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 04:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM
First A64 OC Attempt only 2070Mhz??? BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 August 10, 2007 11:22 AM