Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 02:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
I see what you did there with the black and green wires, but what do you do with it?

Oh and what of this?

NCIX.com - Buy Logisys CLK12UV2 Dual UV Cold Cathode Kit 12IN 3.0MM - CLK12UV2 In Canada.

Some guy told me to get them.
That UV light works fine, price match with DC though. Logisys CLK4UV2 Dual UV Cold Cathode Kit 4IN 3.0MM - DirectCanada

About 5 dollars cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 05:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Where do the UV lights go and what do they do? And what about the black and green wires?
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 06:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

UV lights can go anywhere, personally I put them where I can't visually see them. For example here is why mine are, I probably don't need that many but oh well. Purple lines = UV lights
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 06:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

This post is screwed up lol

Last edited by Z Overlord; June 13, 2009 at 07:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 06:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
uhh, how do I make the prices into USD? It's all in CAD :(

Is there a US site that you guys know of that carries this stuff?

Holy ****, prices are way cheaper on Newegg (if they carry the item)
NCIXUS.com
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 07:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

rofl I changed my post before you posted.

so here's my final list. Is that all I need? How much of each item (like how many barbs and stuff?)
Attached Files
File Type: doc WC parts.doc (11.5 KB, 125 views)

Last edited by Z Overlord; June 13, 2009 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2009, 04:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

bumpaga
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2009, 10:19 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 381
Default

I came in here expecting pics!

Guess you want to make sure everything is 100% beforehand...Not a bad idea. For barbs you'll need a pair for each block your installing, a pair for your rad, and a pair for the res (unless you want to use the plastic swiftech ones...). Your pump has built in barbs (unless your using an aftermarket top).

Only thing I would change personally, is go with UV tubing for the same price, and run distilled. You'll void your warranty on your res. by using feser one, and can possibly weaken the acrylic.

Other then that you look good 2 go!






I recomend the UV Cathodes too, I like them alot more than just blue lighting. Heres a pic of my setup.


__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q

Last edited by aviduser; June 15, 2009 at 10:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2009, 11:00 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Anything you can get at NCIX and pricematch to Sidewinders, do it, the rad is ~$5 cheaper, barbs are ~2 per barb(important since you will be buying a BUNCH of the things).

As for tubing, there have been lots of reports with fluids breaking down in injection blocks(like the GTZ) so I really recommend just using distilled and some coloured tubing, you shouldn't even need a biocide as your fittings are silverplated and all Primochill tubing apparently has built in biocides.

For your question about quantity:

2x for the res
2x for the rad
2x for the block
2x for the vga
2x for good measure(trust me, it ALWAYS pays off to buy extra in case you can't find those exact fittings in stock when you need them later)

For tubing, get a good solid 10 feet for your first build, you WILL want extra because you are almost guaranteed to make a little mistake the first time and if you ever need to replumb.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 07:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Well I know NOT to use medal barbs for that particular res. because it says they crack it (other ppl have confirmed) Will I need biocide then? How so minus barbs for res.

And what do I use to cut the tubing?

I'm also noticing how a bunch of my stuff is Swiftech, why don't they just release a bundle pack like the Orange Box?

Also the barbs need to be 1/2,

Swiftech High Flow Fittings 1/4in BSPP thread to 1/2in ID Barb

why does it say 1/2 and 1/4?

Last edited by Z Overlord; June 16, 2009 at 07:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
attempt , block , cooling , firts , water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First attempt at Overclocking my E8400 Mishtar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 14, 2008 11:24 AM
First attempt at building a computer! fawconpunch New Builds 6 June 28, 2008 07:42 PM
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 04:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM
First A64 OC Attempt only 2070Mhz??? BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 August 10, 2007 11:22 AM