Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 11:04 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

The list is looking good, I'd say. If you don't have any, maybe grab a pair of el cheapo pliers to tighten the fittings with. Finger-tight is just fine 99% of the time, but it's always good to give each fitting an extra 1/4 twist to make sure it doesn't work loose while you're pushing the tubing on.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 03:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

when testing the loop, can I test it not in a case? Like just laying on the floor? Oh and you know my tubing? Is there a clear version of that exact tubing? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 05:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

bumpa
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 06:23 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Yes, you can test it outside of the case. I wouldn't suggest laying it on carpet though. As for tubing, I don't recall what you linked, but I've used the Masterkleer and Primochill (in UV Red and Black), and I'd recommend the Primochill.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 06:44 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

I test inside the case, but I power pump with external power supply.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 09:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
I test inside the case, but I power pump with external power supply.
but if there ARE leeks, won't that brake my hardware? Water can't be good for electronics

As for clear tubing, how's this?

NCIX.com - Buy Primochill Primoflex Pro LRT Clear 1/2IN ID 3/4IN OD Tubing (10 Feet) - PFLEXP10-34 In Canada.

And what rad?

NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection.

Oh and on my list, how much of each do I need? (Like barbs, clamps, etc.)

Last edited by Z Overlord; June 12, 2009 at 09:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 10:20 PM
Sadasius's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 156

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
but if there ARE leeks, won't that brake my hardware? Water can't be good for electronics
Your right water is not good for electronics. But if the electronics is not on the there is no harm. Just clean it up and let it dry out for a few days if you leak all over anything and try again. Leak testing outside the case is kind of useless because everything will loosen up on you when you go to put it in the case after testing and thus causing a leak. So what you use is a cheap power supply, cut the green and black wire that are next to each other on the part that plugs into a motherboard. Twist them together after stripping the ends and tape them together using electrical tape. Please do not plug it into a motherboard...ever. This will be your leak testing PSU from now on. I use a craptacular 300watt PSU from some old IBM system. When you plug this into a wall it will automatically be on. So plug in your pumps and fans on your rad and then plug it into a wall. Make sure as well that there is always fluid going to the pump. Shut off and on the PSU as needed. I like mine because it has a switch on it to turn it off and on and is great for leak testing (if you have no switch just unplug at the wall). I fill it up a little, turn on the power for a sec and then turn it off again and fill some more. Keep going till it's all full. Here is some pics of the leak testing PSU.





__________________
Black Phoenix CPU-Z Validation
Code:
 Q9650 @ 4.05 Ghz (9x450) / 4 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix @ 1800 Mhz / 3870X2 / Ultra X3 1000/Maximus Extreme X38 / Thermaltake Xaser VI custom watercooled with black powdercoat. Click above for pic!
San Ace Awesomeness!
San Ace Awesomeness Part II!

Last edited by Sadasius; June 12, 2009 at 10:38 PM. Reason: Took some pics as examples!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 10:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Yeah everyone thinks water + electronics is bad. If there is any electricity this is very true. I hooked up my loop inside my case and powered it from another computer's PSU. You could do it externally too. It'd be a good way to test each part if you're concerned.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 01:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

I see what you did there with the black and green wires, but what do you do with it?

Oh and what of this?

NCIX.com - Buy Logisys CLK12UV2 Dual UV Cold Cathode Kit 12IN 3.0MM - CLK12UV2 In Canada.

Some guy told me to get them.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 02:12 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Yep, I saved a buddies laptop when he poured a glass of water on it.. I turned it over fast and yanked the battery out, no damage at all once it dried!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
attempt , block , cooling , firts , water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First attempt at Overclocking my E8400 Mishtar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 14, 2008 11:24 AM
First attempt at building a computer! fawconpunch New Builds 6 June 28, 2008 07:42 PM
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 04:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM
First A64 OC Attempt only 2070Mhz??? BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 August 10, 2007 11:22 AM