Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #131 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 02:49 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Check that you have tightened the barbs to the blocks. Occasionally the torque from the tubing will loosen the barbs.

Also, re-do the clamps, sometimes that helps
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W


Last edited by Jackquelegs; July 3, 2009 at 02:49 PM. Reason: speeeling
Reply With Quote
  #132 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 03:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

So I got it to work. Currently on my first hour lol. Thanks guys. So I should refill it when it goes below 3/4 right? Do I leave the cap on the top of the res? How does the air bubble leave? Do I need the top of it open to let the air out or does it just let more air in that way? Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #133 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 03:34 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Technically speaking, the air doesn't need to 'leave' the reservoir. All that needs to happen is for the air to move to the top of the res, while the water moves into the loop. Equal volumes are exchanged when that happens, so you can leave the cap on, except for when you're filling the loop. You may hear a faint 'hiss' when you unscrew the cap, because of a slight pressure buildup as the system warms up, but it won't interfere with the bleeding process.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #134 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 03:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

so I should bleed it every 6-8 months?

Vid:
YouTube - My Water Cooling setup

How do I make it 720p?
Reply With Quote
  #135 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 05:25 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Once it's bled it should be fine. Depending on what you use as coolant, you should take it apart to clean every year or so.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #136 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 05:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

You're making it sound like it needs to be bled after the test lol.
Reply With Quote
  #137 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 06:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...d/100_1009.jpg

Is it supposed to fog like that?

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...erlord/006.jpg

far away pic.
Reply With Quote
  #138 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 06:39 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Yeah that's the heated water evaporating. It's fine.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #139 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 07:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Cool so I never have to uncap the res to let it out? I'm going to be on my 8th hour in a minute W00t!. I'll leave it overnight lol, it hasn't leaked so far. Well sometime in the Fall-Winter I hope to upgrade to a whole never CPU socket and Ram, I can bleed the system then. I feel like the Home Depot tubing is average at best. What would be some good tubing to use? Don't care what price and what company. And bitspower for 90/45 degree barbs correct?
Reply With Quote
  #140 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 12:02 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Bitspower makes the best barbs and fittings out there, IMHO. And I like my Primochill tubing, but Feser is nicer (more opaque).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
attempt , block , cooling , firts , water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First attempt at Overclocking my E8400 Mishtar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 14, 2008 11:24 AM
First attempt at building a computer! fawconpunch New Builds 6 June 28, 2008 07:42 PM
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 04:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM
First A64 OC Attempt only 2070Mhz??? BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 August 10, 2007 11:22 AM