Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 03:13 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

For sure. Do check on PerformancePC. They're great on fittings.
Bitspower Fittings : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come

I think you'll find what you like in there
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #122 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 09:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Disregard my last post, I'm almost done. Does the pump vibrate ennough that it will move around in the case? I have it adhesive taped to a mini stand which is not held.
Reply With Quote
  #123 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 09:44 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

I would bolt it down in addition to using the adhesive pad that came with it. Not necessary at ALL, if you put it on once it will be tough as hell to get it back off again, but hey, better safe than sorry am I right? If you don't have accessible screw holes just use the pad.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #124 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 10:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

well I have it elevated on a metal box thing (that metal box thing is not bolted at all).
Reply With Quote
  #125 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 11:08 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Personally, I wouldn't bolt it down unless it's absolutely necessary. The bolts are just one more way the pump's vibration can get through to the case. And as long as there's no sideways pressure, the tubing is often enough to keep the pump from going anywhere.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #126 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 11:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU ran out of Clamps, need some moar

I'll get some tommarrow morning. Over the next year or so I need to learn what elbows and tubing is good for WCing since it is the cause of 90% of the problems (almost done, what's I get the clamps I can go to leak testing).

pics:

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...d/DSCF2867.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...d/DSCF2868.jpg

Now for my concern with the pump:

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...d/DSCF2869.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...d/DSCF2872.jpg

See how the adhesive tape is pasted to the metal box thing? But there is nothing to keep the metal box thing still or bolted (might need to drill some holes). I am using it to elevate the pump for easier connection.

Last edited by Z Overlord; July 2, 2009 at 11:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #127 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 12:33 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

What if you switched the tube routing around a little? Have the pump outlet go directly into the CPU block, then down to the radiator? That should let you route the tubing in and out of the pump without any immediate tubing bends, which would let the tubing hold the pump where it is.

This photo's a little fuzzy, but it illustrates a little of what I'm talking about. Basically, there's absolutely nothing holding the pump steady here, except for the tubing connected to it. Based on your case photos, I'm pretty sure you could do something similar.
Attachment 6365
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133

Last edited by MpG; January 3, 2014 at 10:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #128 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 10:14 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z Overlord View Post
Now for my concern with the pump:

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...d/DSCF2869.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...d/DSCF2872.jpg

See how the adhesive tape is pasted to the metal box thing? But there is nothing to keep the metal box thing still or bolted (might need to drill some holes). I am using it to elevate the pump for easier connection.
Put some foam under that box. It will probably vibrate like hell on your metal case.
Reply With Quote
  #129 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 02:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

I keep getting leaks from the cpu block. Everything seems fine, could it be the Home Depot Tubing?
Reply With Quote
  #130 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 02:42 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

As long as the clamps are tightened down properly, that shouldn't be an issue. I can't tell from the photo, but which barbs are you using? Because of the recessed holes in the block, sometimes the o-rings aren't compressed properly.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
attempt , block , cooling , firts , water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First attempt at Overclocking my E8400 Mishtar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 14, 2008 12:24 PM
First attempt at building a computer! fawconpunch New Builds 6 June 28, 2008 08:42 PM
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 05:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 09:59 AM
First A64 OC Attempt only 2070Mhz??? BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 August 10, 2007 12:22 PM