Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 05:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

From Dazmode's guide

Time to fill the loop, for that you will need an external power supply source to run your pump as you can not power up your system without proper CPU cooling. I used external IDE harddrive docking station or I could use other PC to "borrow" molex power connector from it.

No is that the big 20-24 pin thing that plugs into the Mobo? Do I need to mod it?

and how do I know how much liquid to put in the loop? With all the tubing the liquid needed will exceed the capacity of the res.
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 08:56 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

A molex is the standard 4-pin connector. See wikipedia for pics. And you need to jump the PSU with a paperclip on the 24 pin, between the green wire and any black wire. You then control the PSU with the switch on the back. Do not have any of your other components plugged in other than the pump.

Fill your res, start the pump, shut down when res is empty. Repeat as necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 01:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Any idea where I should put the resovior? I have an Antec 1200 case
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 02:04 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

Above the pump.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 05:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

I meant like mounting it. I don't seem to know where to mount it.
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 05:39 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

It up to you really. I've seen res hanging on pipes, res screwed to the case, res attached to the case with self-adhesive tape... whatever works.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 06:05 PM
Sadasius's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 156

My System Specs

Default

Before I mount mine I usually take it out for dinner and a movie.
__________________
Black Phoenix CPU-Z Validation
Code:
 Q9650 @ 4.05 Ghz (9x450) / 4 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix @ 1800 Mhz / 3870X2 / Ultra X3 1000/Maximus Extreme X38 / Thermaltake Xaser VI custom watercooled with black powdercoat. Click above for pic!
San Ace Awesomeness!
San Ace Awesomeness Part II!
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 10:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Unhappy

uh, did my NCIXUS order go through? I don't think it did x_x


[IMG]http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...Untitled-8.jpg[/IMG]

Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 11:15 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Went through, just waiting for the credit card to be run through.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 12:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

how do I run it? (Credit info was changed recently) NCIX's UI is so strange.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
attempt , block , cooling , firts , water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First attempt at Overclocking my E8400 Mishtar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 14, 2008 11:24 AM
First attempt at building a computer! fawconpunch New Builds 6 June 28, 2008 07:42 PM
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 04:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM
First A64 OC Attempt only 2070Mhz??? BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 August 10, 2007 11:22 AM