Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 09:36 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Campbell River B.C
Posts: 148
Default anyone with watercooled hd 4890's ?

hi there just wondering if there is anyone on these forums with water cooled 4890's (full coverage block)

can you please post your before and after temps please
and your water cooling parts used

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 11:56 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Campbell River B.C
Posts: 148
Default

just finished installing both blocks

NCIX.com - Buy Ek Water Blocks EK-FC4890 CF Nickel Full Cover Radeon HD 4890 GPU Block G1/4 - No Barbs - 3830046993847 In Canada.

i have results

air cooled idle =60c load 80
water idle =30c load 37

overclocking has improved

both cards can run at 980/1150(water) on air they max out at 950/1100 (at 80 % fan speed) (holly shit LOUD!!)

its so much quieter now

i will post pics soon

and benchmarks to fallow
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 06:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19
Default

XSPC Razor 4890 block

Idle Temps GPU-Z
GPU - 34 C
Mem - 39 C
VRM - 47 C

Load Temps GPU-Z
GPU - 39 C
Mem - 47 C
VRM - 68 - 78 C 78C on Crysis

Single Loop Q6600 3.2GHz XFX 4890 950/1000 MCR320-QP, MCP655, XSPC Razor 4890 and Swiftech Apogee GTZ.
__________________
Core i7 860 w/ EK Supreme HF | 2x 5850 w/ 2x EK 5850 Nickel Plated Blocks | EVGA P55 FTW | 8 GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 | Corsair 750 Watt
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 10:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2
Default

I've got the PowerColor 4890 LCS which idles at 32C with a load temp of 40C
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 06:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bc_tileguy View Post
i will post pics soon

and benchmarks to fallow

Hi... I'm hoping you'll still post some pics!
I'm also interested in that block... well, the acetal covered one.

If you decide to post some pics, could you please take some close shots of the memory and vrm's to see how well it fits them. I wonder, would it be possible to put ceramic paste instead of thermal tape?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 06:37 PM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

I have the Koolance vid-487 and I got idle temps of 28C and load temps within the mid 30's

Hope it helps. That koolance block is a monster.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 07:25 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

Swiftech also claims their 4870 block fits 4890.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 04:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks!... but the blocks that you mentioned are not accessible to me. The only real shop that sells pc water cooling parts has only EK full cover blocks and that's why I'm interested in that model with the same vga card.
I wanted to see the clearance between the ram chips and vrm and the block's base.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 06:53 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default Koolance blocks

I have the Koolance vid-487 block using the same pads that were on my old 4870. These are my idle temps and my room temp is 26c right now. Load temps are around 10c higher across the board. This is cooled by a swiftech 2.120 rad using two Noctua fans at 1/2 speed. My P35 Northbridge is also on the same loop but that is all. Noticed that my VDDCs get to 110c during fur mark so I reseated my block and now they only hit about 100c in furmark. There is something wrong but I can't figure it out.

Name:  temps.jpg
Views: 1879
Size:  47.5 KB
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED

Last edited by Varroa; July 12, 2009 at 08:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 08:15 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Very strange, just ran Fallout 3 on ultra high settings at 1680x1050 and my GPU, mem and VDDC all stayed at about the same temps as idle (+/- 2 degrees). Does Furmark really push your card that much? I am going to load up Crysis and see what I get:

Crysis temps: GPU highest was about 47c, Mem about same and the highest VDDCs was 61c. All on high settings at 1680x1050. I guess Furmark REALLY pushes your video card more than any game will.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED

Last edited by Varroa; July 12, 2009 at 08:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2x 275 or 2x 4890 bumfloss Video Cards 5 May 26, 2009 06:32 AM
4890 again...yeah i`m serious martin_metal_88 Video Cards 6 April 21, 2009 07:36 AM
Anyone Have Numbers on the 4890 Yet? Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 April 15, 2009 08:04 PM
[WTB] watercooled ati videocards. or 1 watercooled nvidia card kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 26, 2009 12:53 PM
New Watercooled Setup cdn_Madrach Water Cooling 41 March 11, 2007 11:48 AM