Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 12:36 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default Installing a new waterblock

Hi guys.
I am really new to watercooling and this is my first build.
My build was actually almost done because a way more experience person was helping me put together my watercooling system (only water cooling my cpu) and he just ditched me halfway through. Everything is finished (all the tubing has been cut and the radiator, the pump, etc is done, except for the water block) (I had to get a new waterblock and barbs for the build) I now have to take out the old waterblock, and replace it with my new one with the new barbs. To be honest I dont know half what I am doing now, and I would appreciate it if someone to could help me out a little bit.
Thanks.
-Shayan.

PS. I have read the guides. I am just a little confused to start off on where I am right now.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:17 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Drain the fluid.
Cut off the tubing on the old CPU block.
Remove CPU block.
Install barbs on new CPU block.
Install new CPU block.
Install new tubing (or if long enough old tubing).
Add tye-wraps to secure tubing ends to barbs.
Fill fluid.
Jump-start PSU from 24-pin connector (pins 4 and 6 / green & black wires).
24 hours leak check.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 10:25 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Drain the fluid.
Cut off the tubing on the old CPU block.
Remove CPU block.
Install barbs on new CPU block.
Install new CPU block.
Install new tubing (or if long enough old tubing).
Add tye-wraps to secure tubing ends to barbs.
Fill fluid.
Jump-start PSU from 24-pin connector (pins 4 and 6 / green & black wires).
24 hours leak check.
Thanks for the guide, but I have three questions.
What are tye wraps and how do I use them?(are they like zip ties?).
Where do I fill the fluid where is the opening located?
How do I jump start the PSU from a 24-pin connector (pins 4 and 6 / green % black wires.)? (I have no idea of what that means.)
Thanks.
Shayan.:help:
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 10:49 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
Thanks for the guide, but I have three questions.
What are tye wraps and how do I use them?(are they like zip ties?).
Where do I fill the fluid where is the opening located?
How do I jump start the PSU from a 24-pin connector (pins 4 and 6 / green % black wires.)? (I have no idea of what that means.)
Thanks.
Shayan.:help:
Oh my. :help: indeed.

Zap straps / zip ties / tye wraps, are all the same.
You fill the loop using the reservoir, or a fill port. If you have neither, then you have a problem.
Jump start the PSU following this guide: Guide: Jump Starting a PSU - Overclock3D Forums. Make sure the pump is connected to a Molex, and I always add a few (2) fans to add some load.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 10:53 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Yes I have them all. Thankyou. I will start trying to learn how to jump start a PSU :D
I just have one more question. How do i make the fluid. Like, How much coolant do I mix with how much distilled water,
and how much distilled water do I need.
Thanks.
Shayan.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 10:56 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

It depends which coolant liquid you have.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 11:01 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

this one: NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech Hydrx Water Additive Coolant 2 oz Bottle - HYDRX2OZ In Canada.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 11:09 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

1 bottle per liter.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 11:13 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

do I need a liter, or more?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 11:35 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Depends really on the size of the loop, but unless your loop is monstrous 1 L should be more than enough.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing QP-Res upside down? sswilson Water Cooling 22 February 22, 2009 06:48 PM
installing OS Jim Guides & How-to's 6 January 29, 2009 01:52 PM
Best way of installing raid 1 Phobia Storage 3 January 8, 2009 11:55 PM
installing a motherboard Defiant CPU's and Motherboards 8 December 17, 2008 01:38 PM
help installing heatsink Zippoh Air Cooling 26 December 9, 2008 09:36 PM