Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 09:42 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default Anyone see anything wrong with this setup?

I'm looking to handle two separate loops via a single fillport. I'm wondering if this is the correct method, or if there is a simpler way of going about it. Any ideas?



Hmm, while writing this, I noticed the stupid idea of putting a fillport on top of the case with a radiator at an even higher position. Would make bleeding a real PITA.
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 10:06 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

I'd think it would probably work alright. Technically speaking, you might get a little crossover between the two loops, depending on how different the restriction levels are, I'm not entirely positive how the loop pressures would interact. I think they'd be roughy equal at the intakes to the pumps, which would make things okay.

For the record, I think I'd be tempted to just put the pumps in series and run one single loop with both rads. I can't imagine many programs could load 8 cores AND a GPU at the same time, so this would pretty much dedicate a triple+double towards whichever was working for a given application.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 10:16 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

Alternatively, could I use this Koolance Quad splitter:


in this manner?





That would probably be the cleanest solution, if it'll work. Well, apart from running the pumps in series, which would eliminate the need for splitting the fillport.


As for loading it all up, well, it gets quite toasty with Flight Simulator X (8 threads + GPU) and Grand Theft Auto IV (3 threads + GPU), or if I'm multitasking (Photoshop=GPU+CPU, Browsers=CPU, VMs=CPU). With that in mind, would you still suggest pumps in series, or as separate loops?
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 05:41 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Either dual loops with dual fillports, or single loop with rads and pumps in series.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 06:11 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Series pumps still gets my vote, and those quad-splitters kind of make me cringe from how restrictive they look. I also imagine that trying to get a system to bleed with one of those at the t-line/fillport junction would be a right pain in the ass.

If you really want to run two loops, is having two fillports that difficult to implement in your particular system? It would take the uncertainty out of the equation, and make it easier to work on individual components.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 06:16 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Or dual loops using a single, big fat-ass res...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 08:49 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

I second the pumps in series idea, take the uncertainty out of the equation and don't use that Koolance splitter, it looks crazy restrictive.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 09:11 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I think the tubing looks way too small for proper flow :D
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 09:16 AM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

Blerg. Alright, pumps in series it is. Thanks, guys. Well, maybe I'll look into that window reservoir idea I had, I'm just worried about flow rate if I do that.

Although I think even one CPX-PRO pump may suffice for my use, shouldn't it? Rads are Feser 360mm and a Swiftech MCR220, may go with a PA160.1 for the back though, if I can find one. The blocks are Fuzions, running it all on 3/8" tube.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I think the tubing looks way too small for proper flow :D
Well, it's not to scale. The fillport is bigger than the CPU blocks, each of which is twice the size of a GPU!
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 09:35 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

I'm gonna throw in another recommendation for putting everything in series OR Johns idea of dual loops that filter into 1 big res.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something wrong? paphman910 Off Topic 2 December 19, 2008 05:43 PM
Is CPU-Z wrong?!!? MognonMan Troubleshooting 2 June 28, 2008 07:56 AM
Did I do wrong? Jack Rabbit Off Topic 9 June 6, 2008 04:31 PM
Huh? What did I do wrong? Prof. Dr. Silver Suggestions & Feedback 6 April 22, 2008 09:51 PM
don't know what's wrong with me... Scratch Water Cooling 5 March 5, 2008 11:06 AM