Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 09:42 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default Here comes the noob (I bet you're used to it now)

Well, got my loop set up and running, only to find that my EK Supreme was leaking at the barbs (from under, not where the tubing is). The one thing that's messing with me is that the barbs I have had no o-ring, and when trying the smallest one I had from another fitting, it sat on top of the block with a large amount of the o-ring exposed.
Obviously this is a PEBCAK issue, maybe someone could help me with this, that seems to be the only issue it my loop. I have a feeling I need some different kind of barbs than I currently possess.
And to sum it up: :help:

Basically what I've got is:
DDCPX Pro<MCR220(I believe)<EK Supreme Acetal<Swifty NB Block (something30, too tired and fed up to go look)<MCRes V2, all inside an HAF.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 09:58 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Ok, so you are leaking at the stop fittings?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:01 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Yep. Right where the barbs and top of the block touch (well, barely touch that is) It's a small leak, but running for a couple minutes the paper towel under it was completely soaked.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:01 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,602
Default

What barbs are you using?

Every barb should come with an o-ring that should seal well.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:03 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

If the barbs didn't have any o-ring, that's likely the problem, and that definitely needs to be fixed. Don't try using teflon tape/plumbers goop, because even the smallest bit of that breaking loose will clog the block's guts. Not entirely certain what you're talking about with the second set of barbs, but is it possible to remove their o-rings and put them on the original fittings?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:04 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

hmm, you may want to pick up 2 new stop fittings.

Bitspower -TRUE SILVER- G1/4 Threaded Stop Fitting
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:05 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Well, the person I got my new rad from threw in these barbs along with the plastic ones. It never clued to me that the block Linus sent me would be without barbs.
Oh, and here's what they look like, minus the o-ring of course:
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:07 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpfan4ever View Post
Well, the person I got my new rad from threw in these barbs along with the plastic ones. It never clued to me that the block Linus sent me would be without barbs.
Oh, and here's what they look like, minus the o-ring of course:

Ah, misunderstanding. So your barb is leaking? Not the stop fitting.

I'd just buy some new barbs, unless you have some extra ones lying around that you can snag the orings off of.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:09 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
Ah, misunderstanding. So your barb is leaking? Not the stop fitting.

I'd just buy some new barbs, unless you have some extra ones lying around that you can snag the orings off of.
That's the thing, I tried taking o-ring off another set of barbs, and when I screw down the barbs, the o-ring doesn't set into any sort of groove, it just basically sits on top of the block's top, partially set inside a groove.
I'll get pictures tomorrow if possible, but I have to go to bed or else I'm not going to be able to wake up tomorrow. Now where'd I put that asprin, agghhh.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 10:41 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Not all barbs have recessed grooves for the o-rings, and that Supreme doesn't have much of a groove in its top either. If you're careful and tighten down the barbs (w/ orings installed) snugly, it should work fine. You just have to make sure the fitting doesn't pinch the orings out from underneath it, since that'll ruin the seal.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] I am a noob and i need some help :D eltiti55555 Buy/Sell & Trade 16 March 9, 2009 01:02 PM
Complete Noob Needs Help Trevor Water Cooling 10 February 21, 2009 05:18 PM
Noob question... shayan288 RAM 1 January 8, 2009 03:13 PM
Noob here, trying to get my first WC setup together. jaszypoo Water Cooling 13 December 11, 2008 06:25 PM
RAM... A Noob Question Hail Ceasar RAM 11 December 1, 2008 06:51 PM