Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 01:53 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i am thinking of changing out the ones that came with it and putting on some ultra kazes i have just did a temp check my self topping out at 70 72 i think i am going to try and find a real big rad i mean big like car rad
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 01:56 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Hehe! A car rad.... I just bought 4 of the Scythe Slip Stream Kaze Jyuni 120MM Fan 1200RPM 68.5CFM 24DBA from DC. Hopefully I'll get them monday morning, and they make a difference.

My idle temps are identical to my vendetta 2, and my full load temps are like 1 degree less...

Hmm, my north and south bridges are burning hot now that there isnt much air cycling across them anymore....
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 02:37 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

ya i just strap a fan to my northbridge but southbridge getting hot that's kinda weird
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 03:27 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Does it matter which direction your rad is pointing? Like right now, as you can see in my pics the barbs are at the top, will it still work if that barbs are at the bottom? Or will the pump not pump the water through the entire rad and cool it down?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 03:59 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Hmm, I read that it doesnt actually... So I put my rad on the back of the case, because i also read that having it where i had it would lose me approx 10 degrees. So I put it on the back of the case, screwing into the existing fans on the back. The only thing I noticed since refilling the loop was that on the line going from the waterblock, back into the res, the water appears to be swirlign there, and you can see the white stream going through the hose. Also coming from the waterblock is the really annoying sound of water and air gargling in the block..


Anyone know how I make the gargling sound stop?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 04:08 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

You've got air bubbles. I gently shake/tilt my case to get rid of them quickly, otherwise they should go away eventually.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 04:24 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

+ on sugarJ to the bubbles. how are your temps any better now that you moved it ( ya it does not matter which way you put your rad ) most res are designed to stop most whirling i have found
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 04:38 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Heres some crappy cell phone pics of the new loop.
Temps are once again, EXACTLY the SAME.

__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 05:28 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

wow temps on my first water cooled rig where 40 + on a zalman fan cooler one of the higher end ones can't remember as soon as i went to water 10 to 15 c drop. My q6600 has a fan for when i clean my loop that's 9700cnps temps are 10 12 c higher on all cores
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 05:31 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Someone told me to change the loop to have the pump going into the GTZ because apparently its restrictive. Whats your take on that idea?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 01:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 03:18 PM