Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 09:35 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default DDCPX-pro, rpm not working?

This pump has a 3-pin fan header, and all the lit says it is for "rpm monitoring" and I liked that due to being able to set a shut down if it failed.

It doesnt seem to work? Everything reports it as 0RPM, any body have this pump and it works?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 12:13 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Come to think of it, I never hooked it up to see the RPM.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 12:16 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

yeah, and I can't find ANYTHING on the web to show anyone who has...

lots of mentions about the fact it CAN, just nothing about that it DID...


I was really looking forward to this feature and did some fairly involved wiring mods to acheive it...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 12:43 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Good luck. The only RPM I got was from the MCP655, and that has a dedicated RPM wire.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 01:12 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Hmm... at one point, I was giving my own a test run, but since it was open bench, I never thought to actually check and see if the rpm signal was being sent. Actually, my one DDC pump seems to have a pretty flakey rpm signal as well, since about every other time I boot up, it warns me of a fan failure.

Have you tried powering the pump off of different headers?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 12:54 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

I've been reading that almost everyone can't get their rpms to work with this pump. I just bought one, but I dont have it installed yet.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 02:25 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

danger Den says I can RMA it for this issue, but then my rig would be down for a few weeks and it sounds like it may not even solve this issue...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 03:59 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
danger Den says I can RMA it for this issue, but then my rig would be down for a few weeks and it sounds like it may not even solve this issue...

I doubt it will solve the issue. But if you want to try it, I'd just bitch enough on the phone and see if you can do an advanced exchange. That way you get the new pump, slap it on, and send the old one back.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 04:20 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

its out of warranty though, so it will also cost me moolah...

meh, i am just really bummed out, I wanted this feature.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 08:37 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Hmm, tonight I put a fan controller on my CPX-PRO pump. I can adjust the speed of the pump up and down, I was just wondering if its healthy for the pump to be ran slower than its supposed to?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pump: Danger Den DDCPX-PRO Question Poison Ivy Water Cooling 9 October 24, 2008 12:55 PM
New build (almost) working SuperFriedFish Troubleshooting 6 October 21, 2008 07:16 PM
new build not working satan_2.7 Troubleshooting 2 August 17, 2008 10:26 PM
WTB any working 939 processor chibi_man Buy/Sell & Trade 7 April 16, 2008 01:04 PM
I-Trader not working? b1lk1 Suggestions & Feedback 1 September 21, 2007 07:41 AM