Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:31 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default do i need more rad

after just buying some water block and going to buy some more in the coming weeks, will i need to upgrade my rad. i have a mcr320 and cooling 2 mosfets, north bridge, south bridge, and cpu and if i can afford it a vidcard. the cpu will be a oc'd e8400. if i need another rad it will be a mcr220 (only got room left for that in my mm case). thx to who ever helps me out.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:39 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

The 320 is very efficient, and should be able to handle the heat dump. But if you already have the 220, why not add it?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yeah, charlie knows his stuff. Adding an additional rad, might be overkill, but may also allow you to use slower fanspeeds, making the system quieter. Multiple rads also gives you the option of running a rad btween the cpu and the rest of the components, possibly making for cooler temps all around...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:42 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

no i dont have it, but if i need it i can grab one from a store. another quick question what order should i have the water going through the blocks.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I find cpu first, then everything else, and vgas last, but really it depends on what is best for the space in your case. Always best to run pump-rad-cpu; the rest is optional order IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:47 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

i got a mountainmods case so there is always enough space and thanks for the wuick reply's guys. and i might stick a second rad in there 2 for fun.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 08:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

With a MM case, the only way to go is two seperate loops, IMHO; one for cpu, and one for everything else...there so much space that you can cram so much in there that any space constraints become moot...you can even do a triple-loop.


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 08:05 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

well i dont have that much money on my hand but if i do feel the need and have the extra cash then i will. pumps cost a little to much for my liking.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 08:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I hear ya on that one. It's easy to spend $1000 on watercooling going that way...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2009, 11:10 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

so a little update on the stuff i am buying. i ran into some more money. CPU will be changed to a overclocked q9550, still the wc the motherboard, and now a 4870x2. would it be wise to put a 220 rad in between the motherboard and vidcard.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes