Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 06:21 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default Haven't watercooled in a while

Ok, so I scored a Mountain Mods case from Zoot (thanks!!)...
I also have a Koolance pump/reservoir...


I have a dual 120mm rad and fans.

They system is in the sig...

First question: How important is a full coverage waterblock for the GPU? Would one of these be good enough? (x2, one for each card, obviously!!)
NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech GTX200 Full Cover Heatsink for Use with Water Block Cooled GTX 280 & 260 Video Card - GTX200-HS In Canada.

(keep in mind the system is SLI)...

Which waterblock would you use for the GPUs?

What about the CPU?

What else do I need with this stuff?

I know I need some liquid and tygon, but what else is there?
Thanks

Oh, and I don't plan to do any CRAZY overclocking....just mild...but I figure hey, the watercooling stuff (so far) is free, if I throw a couple hundred bucks at it, it's worth it (not for the $600 I had figured before!)
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:03 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't use anything koolance in a serious water loop.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

That pump will not handle a cpu block and dual gpu blocks. Also the link you rprivided for the gpu blocks is only a heatsink. You are missing the actual block.

You'll need:

mcp-355
res
PA120.2 as a minimum, probably a PA120.3 rad
fans
tubing - primochill is pretty good
liquid - same
barbs, 3/8". I will never use 1/2" again.
I use the Danger Den Tieton FC block for my 260. Very efficient, 100% load and 47C.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:24 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Do you happen to know the model number of that Koolance unit? There's an older one with a crappy dual-pump setup that really didn't do much, and the newer unit, which actually uses a DDC-type pump in it, which would probably be just fine for your purposes. If you do use that unit, what are the outputs on it? If they're compression fittings, your tubing needs to have the correct inside diameter AND correct otuside diameter, if you want things to seal properly. For liquid, just get some distilled water from your local store, and add some biocide (a drop of PT_Nuke, for example).

Also a big fan of the DD Tieton FC blocks, and as a bonus, they're very low restriction. If you go with that Swiftech heatsink, I'd pair it either with the DTek Fuzion GFX V2, or the MCW-60 (either the original or the revision 2), but you might also have to spring for an adaptor plate. It adds up, so do the math beforehand. Full-cover might wind up being both cheaper and simpler.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:26 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Koolance with a DDC pump in it? I did not know that.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:32 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

They switched over a while back. Older systems like the Exos-2 used the crappy dual-pump setup, whereas newer systems like the Exos-2 LX started using the DDC. For awhile, if you looked at their system descriptions, if they advertise a 'new pump' with three times the power of the old one, that's what they're talking about. Basically, they just shoe-horned in a stock DDC 3.2 (their number for it is the PMP-400), which is actually pretty decent. Even a speed-control option in some setups, apparently. Although I can't imagine there'd be much room for vibration isolation.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:34 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

great info guys...
This is supposed to be a kick ass pump...but I really don't know.
this is the pump that's inside of it:
Pump, PMP-400 [10mm, 3/8" ID] - Water cooling systems, pc liquid cooling kit, cpu, video card, hard drive
is it good enough?
And yes, there's a speed control on the back of this one...

I'll make sure to get the right size tubing and barbs etc etc.

What's the REAL benefit of a full coverage GPU block vs a regular one with ramsinks?
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:36 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Efficiency at removing the heatload from the memory chips. And no fear of any ramsinks becoming unglued...

Looks like you have the correct pump in it. All depends now is what type of connection you got back there.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:43 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

I'm not sure...I'll post a pic tomorrow, maybe someone can shed some light on this for me!
Thanks for all the help guys!
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2009, 03:47 AM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

Here's the pump/reservoir



Can you tell by the pic what size barbs they are?
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pics of my watercooled HAF 932 :D ragenrok Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 11 February 15, 2009 12:20 PM
my watercooled temp ebdoradz Water Cooling 17 December 20, 2008 02:08 PM
The Journey of a Watercooled GTX 260 Dadi_oh Water Cooling 22 October 30, 2008 03:59 PM
Ati 1900XTX goes watercooled Vinnie Water Cooling 11 February 12, 2008 07:10 PM
New Watercooled Setup cdn_Madrach Water Cooling 41 March 11, 2007 11:48 AM