Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2009, 06:56 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default quick question regarding loop routing

hi all I have a 120 rad and a 240 rad, and am only running a chipset and cpu block for now.

My question is should I route it:

1) 240>cpu>120>chipset

or

2) 240>chipset>120>cpu

or

???

It seems on one hand that option 1 gives the cpu the coldest water cause its fresh from the 240, but then again the chipset doesnt put out much so the fluid in option 2 might actully be cooler than option 1, any thoughts?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620

Last edited by donimo; February 13, 2009 at 07:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2009, 08:58 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

The easiest route is best for your loop. The temps will be barely different throughout the whole loop once it is up to temperature. Anybody who tells you different is full of bs.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 03:35 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,481

My System Specs

Default

Yep, yep......

Even without the extra rad, you wouldn't notice much difference in temps based on where you put the block.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 04:11 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

The simplest route, is the best route. Keep that rule of thumb in mind, whatever takes the least amount of tubing and distance will tend to be the best overall!
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 09:44 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

sweet thanks guys!




so, the smartcoils I have are for 5/8 tubing , are mild kinks that big a deal? not really kinks but you know...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 09:45 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

Can you show a pic? A mild kink could get worse later.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 09:56 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

I am at a loss to avoiding a kink like that though, top hose has one too, just not as bad...







__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 09:58 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

Just monitor it , it looks like it should be ok. If that is primochill it is pretty strong.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 10:10 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

it is, funny how I have 3 diffrent brands of 1/2 barbs and they are all different sizes...


the bitspower ones on the cpu are waaay bigger than the swiftech ones.

thanks mang

nice ram eh?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 10:12 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

The bitspower where designed with the larger id to improve flow. And yes it is nice ram.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question jspot69 HTPC Systems & Software 4 February 6, 2009 05:39 AM
Quick question Zippoh New Builds 10 December 2, 2008 08:48 PM
quick question... omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 July 22, 2008 05:31 PM
Quick question Nodscene Power Supplies 2 July 7, 2008 11:27 AM
Quick Question. Khronos Display Units 2 January 7, 2008 01:16 PM