Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:27 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default ghetto w/c idea (may not be original)

A guy at work mentioned something as I was talking about how I am w/cing my rig.

"why not just run off the faucet"

And I got to thinking, hmmmmm. Irrisponsible, maybe, but would it work?

My cold water runs between 5-10C, and as that is much less than a w/c setup because there is no heat being recirculated, the flow rate can be much less.

So, has it been done? faucet-pressure/flow reducer (or just crack the faucet less)-CPU block, drain?

I know the water isn't clean etc, but its funny cause it may work, and is pretty much free if your water isnt metered (mine isnt).
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:44 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

You're lucky your water isn't metered...Mine is and that would cost a shyt load to run daily.

I don't see why it wouldn't work though, but I'd be careful about condensation as cold tap water is rather cold.

As per the water not being clean, doesn't matter since its not being re-circulated so I highly doubt anything would grow in it.

I think I'd throw a radiator in there too for fun, probably keep temperatures lower?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:46 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

haaaa, I just may try this one day.

If I upgrade my cpu block in a few months Im gonna (plan too). Ill run it on the old p3, Ill make it fit...

I wish it mattered that my water wasnt metered I really dont use much...

But I do prefer it that way!
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:27 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

You'll get condensation on your blocks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:29 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I'll go one better, I've been eying the toilet tank in the bathroom that's beside my home office. There are 6 of us in the house so it gets flushed lots and it's insulated and the water stays way cold anyways... It wouldn't take much to run a feed and return line through the wall and into the tank..
I'm thinking of cooling my whole office with it in the summer ( think honda civic car rad )
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3 of 7 View Post
I'll go one better, I've been eying the toilet tank in the bathroom that's beside my home office. There are 6 of us in the house so it gets flushed lots and it's insulated and the water stays way cold anyways... It wouldn't take much to run a feed and return line through the wall and into the tank..
I'm thinking of cooling my whole office with it in the summer ( think honda civic car rad )
lol that sounds interesting yet disgusting at the same time Even though that water is technically clean, it's still in a toilet.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:57 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

It seems like a waste of water to me :P but, it would be interesting to see the results.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 05:11 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

run a closed loop through the toilet tank, so the rad in the tank acts like a heat exchanger.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 05:34 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
run a closed loop through the toilet tank, so the rad in the tank acts like a heat exchanger.
Just use the whole tank as a heat exchanger that gets cold water every flush one line out, one line back in, 12v pump.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 05:35 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
lol that sounds interesting yet disgusting at the same time Even though that water is technically clean, it's still in a toilet.
You mean you've never cooled your beer in the back of a toilet?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project "Gettin' out of the Ghetto" biff Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 89 December 5, 2009 03:08 PM
Ghetto Black Mesa Build 3 of 7 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 27 February 14, 2009 06:17 AM
Modding idea.. metalcore Water Cooling 9 January 6, 2009 10:06 AM
Need original Bio's for Asus 4870 PPCLI Video Cards 8 December 31, 2008 07:59 PM
Original Disc could not be found or anthenticated. TwystedMonkey Gaming 9 July 6, 2008 11:20 PM