Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 01:36 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
That res should make NO noise.

As Charlie said top barb = In ; bottom barb = out

Res should NEVER be full and fluid should be just at the bottom of the plastic ramp.

If you are getting noise you possibly have air.

Is the res higher than the pump?
Why shouldn't it be full? I've never heard anything like that before... Also, for the Rev1 of the MicroRes, it says the minimum fluid level is where the logo is, which is about 1/2 way up the divider.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 01:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
Why shouldn't it be full? I've never heard anything like that before... Also, for the Rev1 of the MicroRes, it says the minimum fluid level is where the logo is, which is about 1/2 way up the divider.
It only has to be full enough to allow the barbs to get fluid. You can fill it up if you want but there is no real need.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 01:40 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Mine is dead silent also. But make sure you don't have an air bubble trapped under the deflector shield too.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 01:43 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Res is higher than the pump. Actually pump input comes directly from the bottom barb of the RES. So I should be alright there to.

I also discounted it as air in the system at first. But after a week of non-stop working I was sure it would be gone. Altough my wife tells me it is less noisy than it first was. It is not a non stop sound, so it really looks like an air bubble problem. I'll shake the case tonight !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 01:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
Res is higher than the pump. Actually pump input comes directly from the bottom barb of the RES. So I should be alright there to.

I also discounted it as air in the system at first. But after a week of non-stop working I was sure it would be gone. Altough my wife tells me it is less noisy than it first was. It is not a non stop sound, so it really looks like an air bubble problem. I'll shake the case tonight !
How close is the res to the pump?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 04:18 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

It should only make noises when its half full, or has some air bubbles in it.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 04:39 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

the pump is about 10 cm from res.


Update : it was and it still is air bubble. I feel like most of the noise is coming when it goes into the cpu block. when I have more time, I'll try to shake the case. Thanks all !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; January 26, 2009 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 06:28 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
It only has to be full enough to allow the barbs to get fluid. You can fill it up if you want but there is no real need.
That's a long way from NEVER filling all the way up, enaberif. And I suggested topping it up because I had a bit of noise from mine with a high flow rate until I did add more fluid.

And matsa, a gentle shake while tipping the case seems to work loose most of the air bubbles for me. My first loop made noise for a week until I tried that. Now it's standard operating procedure for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Bay style reservoir! Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 3 November 28, 2008 04:07 PM
XSPC Passive Aluminium Reservoir 150M Review cryostage Member Reviews 23 July 2, 2008 04:54 AM
In need of a *NICE* reservoir. lowfat Water Cooling 11 June 29, 2008 12:33 AM
WTB- WC'ing reservoir and possibly other stuffs Cardboard box with DSL Buy/Sell & Trade 5 March 26, 2008 05:25 PM
don't like the Swiftech micro reservoir Corpus Masochist Water Cooling 10 August 23, 2007 06:30 AM