Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2009, 02:06 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default 115v a/c pump worth the hassle?

I am going to do a budget w/c build, partly to do my first w/c stup, but with the added twist of seeing how low I can get the price.

Having said that I have a Gorman-Rupp 115v mag drive pump, 3.75gpm (850lph), 75psi pump that is pretty silent. Obviously though 115v is a bit of a PITA due to having to hook up a relay of some sort plus some extra wiring etc.

Buuuut, its free.

So anyone do this before? worth it?

anyone want this pump in trade? ha ha.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2009, 02:36 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is online now
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

75psi? Big red zone there - that's WAY more pressure than any common computer water-cooling pump. In fact, it's way more pressure than any TWO computer water-cooling pumps. Depending on the exact setup, you could actually stress and damage components, which is the intermediate stage before flooding your PC. Without seeing the pump's pressure/flow curve, it's hard to know for certain, but I don't think I'd be inclined to try it myself.

Furthermore, AC pumps often have very high power consumption, a part of which is going to be dumped into your loop and have to dissipated by your radiators. Again, have to see the specs to know for sure, but the power draw should be on a label somewhere on the pump.

Having said all that, if you decide to go for it, it wouldn't be terribly complicated to set up. A little messy, but not too complicated. Just find yourself a relay that can be activated by either a 5 or a 12V DC input (and feed a line into it from a four-pin molex connector), and can handle the AC power on the output. Usually not too hard to find relays rated for 220/240 VAC, either at electronics/industrial supply stores, and they can be jury rigged from there. You'll also need to verify that the relay can handle the necessary number of amps that the pump draws.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2009, 03:00 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

http://www.gripumps.com/upload/products/MAG_3.pdf

max psi would depend on how restrictive the setup is, but yeah I hear you.

I have the relays etc already, I fix medical equipment and I scavenge TONS of stuff, it would be awesome if I could use ANY of it in my other hobbies, but sadly there isn't much use for this stuff in the PC world without a lot of adaptation, its all 96v dc or 240ac or HUUUGE or teeeeny tiny, its like goldilocks, but never juuuust right.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2009, 03:13 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is online now
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Whoa, whole different pump than what I was envisioning. I had assumed that "75psi" was the pump's head pressure, but looks like that's just a maximum working pressure - perhaps they're assuming a pressure source from elsewhere? At any rate, looking at that graph, that thing looks more like an aquarium pump than anything - mediocre head pressure (~6ftH20, about the same as a little DB-1 pump), but high flow. In a low restriction loop, it would probably do okay, but I wouldn't want to push it.

Free is free, but by the time you've factored in the effort of making it work, it looks like a pretty weak "free" to me.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2009, 03:20 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

it's from a blood warmer, runs hot water down an 1/8 line around another tube filled with blood, no need for anything crazy, but it was deemed "unsafe for patient use" and I swiped the pump out of it...

Ah well, worth a shot, I honestly thought it was 12v as the battery in it is 12v, but it turns out the battery is just for the onboard memory not the whole unit.

Wish my memory had a backup battery so I coulda remembered that this weekend when I was planning this out...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 08:37 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

note: with the bosch relay(#0 332 209 150) ......terminals are live take caution an insulate connections protect your investments.

electric shock: death to you or your equipment / fire: dwelling burned to ground pile of ashes) so you are warned insulate all connections

PinOut relay

85 12v- input wired to psu molex plug black wire
use a diode (1n4007) between this connection with stripe on the +/yellow
86 12v+ input wired to psu molex plug yellow wire
30 comm red +24v from meanwell
87a norm closed (12v not energized) NOT USED IS LIVE ALL THE TIME when 12v is off.
87 norm open (12v energized) wired to pump + red
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 09:35 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is online now
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Interesting. See those generic relays all the time in automotive, but didn't know they were rated for household power.

Out of curiosity, what's the diode for? Reverse polarity protection?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 07:39 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG
Interesting. See those generic relays all the time in automotive, but didn't know they were rated for household power.

Out of curiosity, what's the diode for? Reverse polarity protection?
NOTE: insulate all connections for house power is unforgiven and always wins(kills)

30amps is 30amps, you see them in microwave ovens in smaller forum

a horn relay works best for its a normally open switch with out the NC terminal and 30amp rating

the diode for anti-spike when field collapses (1kv on line for micro sec) on coil

Last edited by KaptCrunch; January 18, 2009 at 07:43 AM. Reason: safty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB pump Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 30, 2008 12:12 PM
WTB Water pump chibi_man Buy/Sell & Trade 1 June 24, 2008 02:06 PM
pump not turning on? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 8 April 4, 2008 01:17 AM
WTB: pump (for watercooling) elninio Buy/Sell & Trade 8 March 17, 2008 12:47 PM
Pump Question lcdguy Water Cooling 10 February 19, 2008 07:58 PM