Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 06:08 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,940

My System Specs

Default Will these fit?

Coolingworks Black Mini Coolshroud for 120mm Radiators

Even though Swiftech isn't listed, do you think it would be possible to use 2 of them on my MCR220?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 06:20 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

No, it won't, I'm pretty sure Thermochill and HWL's spacing is different than Swiftech's.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 06:22 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,940

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamcanadian7 View Post
No, it won't, I'm pretty sure Thermochill and HWL's spacing is different than Swiftech's.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
Yeah I know that much but perhaps I could do some minor modding to make it work?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 06:30 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Within each fan, the hole spacing for any 120mm fan is standardized, it's the distance between multiple fans that's the issue. So those shrouds should work for any single 120mm rad.

The problem that I'm seeing is that you're thinking of putting them on a dual radiator. These days, HWL and Swiftech are both using 15mm fan hole spacing, which basically puts the fan frames right flush against each other. But by the same token, anything that covers more area than the actual fan (which those shrouds appear to do) is going to have trouble being placed right next to another of the same, since they'll be trying to overlap each other. To make these shrouds work, you may have either bend the plastic a little to force them to go side-by-side, or trim a few millimetres off of one/both of them.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 06:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,940

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Within each fan, the hole spacing for any 120mm fan is standardized, it's the distance between multiple fans that's the issue. So those shrouds should work for any single 120mm rad.

The problem that I'm seeing is that you're thinking of putting them on a dual radiator. These days, HWL and Swiftech are both using 15mm fan hole spacing, which basically puts the fan frames right flush against each other. But by the same token, anything that covers more area than the actual fan (which those shrouds appear to do) is going to have trouble being placed right next to another of the same, since they'll be trying to overlap each other. To make these shrouds work, you may have either bend the plastic a little to force them to go side-by-side, or trim a few millimetres off of one/both of them.
Hrm sounds feasible. And we're talking like <5mm right?

For $3 a piece no harm in trying IMO. I've wasted more money on other things that haven't worked out as planned.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 06:46 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

1-2 millimetres I'm guessing. Hard to say for sure from the pictures. I had the same problem on a dual Swiftech trying to put THESE filters on. It wasn't by much, but they just slightly overlapped. I just held one of the filter edges up to the belt sander for 10 seconds and the problem went away.

In your case though, the fact that they're shrouds means that taking any of the edge off might ruins the airtightness. If you're serious about shrouding, maybe try to evenly take a little off both, so they meet each other evenly? Then a thin line of silicone/glue would seal the gap to maintain airtightness. Yeah, you can only go so wrong for $3/each.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 07:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,940

My System Specs

Default

Well I don't have a belt sander but I think I could still figure something out (aka manual sanding) if its only a couple millimeters.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 11:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

^^ Maybe sanding with a dremel, if you do.. :)

Guess sanding should fix any issues you encounter. As MpG said, it is hard to say from the picture.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 08:23 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,940

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
^^ Maybe sanding with a dremel, if you do.. :)

Guess sanding should fix any issues you encounter. As MpG said, it is hard to say from the picture.
Don't have a dremel either

Good ol' fashioned hand tools
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes