Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 12:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default D-Tek Fusion v1 vs Fusion v2

I am looking to purchase one over my Apogee GT. Prob is last time I opened to clean, the screws threads got all done with, so can't really open the screws.

Is the Fusion v2 really any better than the version 1.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 01:27 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

nope.

like 2 degree difference.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 12:20 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

All in all, not really. although, the mounting mechanism (pro mount) is a nice addition, the old v1 mount was a pain.

So, if you manage to find a good price on V1 go for it, but make sure there is a pro mount on it. If not, for equal pricing, you are as well to buy the V2.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 02:38 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

What kind of pump do you have? How many blocks in the loop? The V1, as long as you don't use the more restrictive inserts, is much less restrictive than the V2, so if you have a weak pump or a long loop, the V1 might be a better choice.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 05:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
What kind of pump do you have? How many blocks in the loop? The V1, as long as you don't use the more restrictive inserts, is much less restrictive than the V2, so if you have a weak pump or a long loop, the V1 might be a better choice.
Currently my loop consists of a D5 pump (MCP 655), Apogee GT, 2x Black Ice GT240 Rads. The second Rad only because I wanted to put my 4870 under water with a EK 4870 Full Cover Block, until it passed away before I could do anything to it, so it is on RMA.

Thanks.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 07:01 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

With that pump, I'm thinking go for the V2 if you can find it for a good price. But even the V1 is a great waterblock, so I wouldn't sweat it too much. But as mentioned above, definitely try to get it with the Pro-mount kit - it's a big improvement.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2008, 02:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Well somebody did offer me a Fusion V1 w/ pro-mount, hopefully he still has it. Thanks MpG.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 10:35 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
With that pump, I'm thinking go for the V2 if you can find it for a good price. But even the V1 is a great waterblock, so I wouldn't sweat it too much. But as mentioned above, definitely try to get it with the Pro-mount kit - it's a big improvement.
I got a quick question, someone offered me a hek of a deal on the Fuzion V1 BNIB, it is kind of a hard to pass offer, can I buy the pro-mount kit alone all by itself, or is it only available with the block?

Thanks.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 10:44 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I think you can buy the kit alone.

Petra's Tech Shop

I can't find it anywhere else other than Petra's. (I didn't look much though )
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 10:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

First place that came to mind, but out of stock.. I'll see if I can find it, otherwise I might be stuck to either buying a Fuzion V1 w/promount as they sell it nowadays, or opt for a version 2.

edit: Performance-pcs have it in stock also. I wish some canadian e-tailer carrries it..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] D-Tek Fusion v2 miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 8 December 25, 2008 11:49 PM
AMD Fusion Details Revealed MAC Press Releases & Tech News 3 August 6, 2008 07:56 AM
AMD shares some tidbits about Fusion Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 15, 2008 01:13 PM
Fusion still king for CPU? sswilson Water Cooling 38 August 31, 2007 12:01 PM
US Modular Cold Fusion RAM Babrbarossa RAM 10 April 16, 2007 05:06 AM