Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 08:39 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default my watercooled temp

i have watercooled my rig 3-4 months ago and since i've been working in the new house i didn't had time for some gaming benchmarking result on the watercooled rig

after 1 hrs of TF2 and 1 hour of BF2 my temp were :

CPU : 35C (compare to 40C on air)
north bridge = same since its not watercooled
GPU : 36C (compare to 90C on air)
Motherboard VRM temps increase by a good 10C and peak @ 48C ... since i dont have the arctic cooling freezer fan anymore near the cpu socket this area it a bit more hot then i was on air ....


im a bit consern about algae in my loop. my computer have been sitting onthe desk and haven't been use for a good month and a half if not even more

and its looking like i have a little brownish film on some part of my tubing ... near the T-Line.

i have used distilated water + pt nuke + Feser UV dye...

do i already have algea .... so far for what i remember the idle temps are the same has they were right after i build my loop ....

my watercooling spec are the following :

Thermochill PA120.3
Swifteck MP655 pump
Fuzion V2 on CPU
Fuzion V2 on the Gpu
T-Line with DD fill port
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 08:45 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

distilated water + pt nuke + Feser UV dye

I would say more than likely you got something in there and your probably going to have to pull it apart and clean it out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 08:46 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Temps are great. I can't imagine you having any algae in the system given what you used. Run it for six months and then flush it and change the fluid.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 08:48 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Temps are great. I can't imagine you having any algae in the system given what you used. Run it for six months and then flush it and change the fluid.
It hasn't been used for a month.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 08:49 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Okay, but did it have the petra nuke in it while it was idle?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 08:51 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

My swiftech tubing has discolored over time but the cheapo stuff I got at Home Depot is still crystal clear.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 09:06 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
My swiftech tubing has discolored over time but the cheapo stuff I got at Home Depot is still crystal clear.
Yes it has PT Nuke but he also has a dye so what he maybe seeing is the dye breaking down which is common.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 09:12 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

yah. My uv dye has stained everything.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 09:45 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

PT_Nuke doesn't play well with a lot of dyes. The newer version is supposed to be more dye-friendly, I believe. And of course, make sure you don't OD on the stuff. One drop per litre is all you need.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2008, 09:50 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
PT_Nuke doesn't play well with a lot of dyes. The newer version is supposed to be more dye-friendly, I believe. And of course, make sure you don't OD on the stuff. One drop per litre is all you need.
Yup its all I use and my computer sat for a month and a bit and when I fired it up my res is still as clear as it was from day 1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Journey of a Watercooled GTX 260 Dadi_oh Water Cooling 22 October 30, 2008 03:59 PM
Real Temp or Core Temp ?? FrankyG Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 September 29, 2008 11:24 PM
Watercooled X2900 XTX pic Babrbarossa Video Cards 12 September 8, 2007 06:40 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 05:07 AM
New Watercooled Setup cdn_Madrach Water Cooling 41 March 11, 2007 11:48 AM