Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 05:04 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default Advice needed on WC

Hey guys, I'm planning out my new WC setup.

PA 120.3 + Swiftech MCR320 (with Ultra kazes and Panaflos, sorry I got those rads cheap, couldn't resist)
DD CPX-Pro Pump
Primochill 1/2 ID 3/4 OD tubing 20 feet
D-TEK Fuzion V1
Swiftech MCW60
Swiftech MCW30 (maybe, still deciding)
Swiftech Micro-Res V1
Coolermaster CM690

It's going to be cooling an overclocked Q6600, and 4870. Possibly a northbridge.

I would like some opinions on:
1. If the pump is powerful enough
2. If should I move onto a bigger case like a HAF 932

I appreciate any input. Thanks!
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 05:29 AM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

You could do one loop but 2 with 2 pumps would be much better imo. It's abit over kill with a triple rad on each but it'll keep it nice & cool. You won't need Ultra Kazes for either of those rads as they both are easy flowing. med fans at the most for either rad.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 09:12 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I would just use the pa120.3 and skip the other rad- especially if you're tying to squeeze them in that cm 690
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 10:33 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Skip the mcw30. its a tiny block that is restrictive and there is no where to put it anyways on your heat pipe mobo. I have one and don't use it. I tried it on the southbridge thinking the heat pipe would cool the rest but it made no difference in northbridge temps.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 11:18 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

I'd be really careful using a core only block on the GPU as the 4870 gets pretty hot around the VRM's and the memory. If you do you'll, need good airflow over high quality heatsinks. For the VRMS I think the enzotech copper Mosfets will probably work quiet well although there are some other good other options out there. Personally I'd go full cover.

As for your loop I'm not sure you need two radiators yet for the cpu, nothbridge and GPU core. As Babs said use the PA120.3 mounted to the back with a radbox and some good fans. If you were using one or two gpus with a full cover block and NB block then another loop just for the quad cpu would be a good idea.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 11:32 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Skip the mcw30. its a tiny block that is restrictive and there is no where to put it anyways on your heat pipe mobo. I have one and don't use it. I tried it on the southbridge thinking the heat pipe would cool the rest but it made no difference in northbridge temps.
+1

I have the mcw30 installed and it's not a very good block IMO, drops my NB 10c
right now idle my cpu is at 15c my NB is at 33c

Personally if you are dead set to watercool the NB there is waaaay better NB blocks out there.
I would do as Babs said drop the mcr320 and mount the 120.3 off the back.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 01:50 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for input so far guys! Awesome.

I doubt I'm going to spend the worth of another MCW30 on MOSFET coolers for the mobo. So NB cooling is out of the way.

I do have an accelero V1 lying around, and the ramsinks and vrmsinks are included. Just need my thermal tape.

In terms of mounting..I might be moving on to a HAF 932, and I might also pick up another CPX-pro pump
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 04:39 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

The mcw30 ins't that bad... depending on what you need it for. I use one just so I don't have to run a fan on my NB and it's perfect for that since it has very low restriction. Also how are you getting your temps? on board sensors? If so there will always be some difference between the block temp and the onboard or on die temp sensors no matter how good the cooling solution - not including active coolers. That 15C CPU is pretty nice though... water chiller?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 04:34 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Well just an update on the situation, I cancelled the order for a PA 120.3, and will be picking up a Feser Xchanger 360 from TerenceJ. Also from him I will pick up a Fuzion V2.

It's going to get a bit more restrictive with the fuzion V2, and I'm seriously thinking of either purchasing another pump for dual loop, or save the cash and go for single loop (probably wouldn't make much of a difference)

I also got the go-ahead for a new case next month..likely to be the HAF 932, but still needs to be decided
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 08:16 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I've got a full set of brand new motherboard blocks for that board available if you're interested. I can't use them now that I'm going to i7
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes