Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 11:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default New to water - need advice!

hey guys, new to this forum!!

i was planning to w/c my sig rig within the next month or so and was looking for any advice or recommendations on components, loop order, etc.

W/C Parts:
Thermochill Pa 120.2 Dual 120MM Fan Water Cooling Radiator x2
Swiftech MCP655 12V Industrial Water Cooling Pump 1/2IN Barbs
Swiftech APOGEE GTZ LGA775 CPU Water Block G1/4 Chrome HI-FLOW 1/2IN Barb Fittings
Danger Den Single Bay Reservoir 5.25IN 1/2IN Barbs
Feser One Feser Tube Clear UV 1/2IN ID 3/4IN OD Tubing (10 Feet)
Pts Petra PT_NUKE Concentrated Biocide Water Additive for Water Cooling (10ML)
Danger Den DD-4870-X2 Full Cover X-FIRE Ready Video Card Water Block for Radeon 4870 X2 1/2IN Barbs
Primochill Zinc Plated Steel Worm Drive Hose Clamps for 3/4IN OD Tubing
Feser One Feser View Red UV Reactive Dye Water Additive 50ML Bottle


Loop order:

Res -> Pump -> Rad1 -> CPU -> GPU -> Rad2 -> Res

Going to be putting this into a MM h2go. Planning to mount 1 rad internally on the intake and one on the back.

Is this enough to cool both the qx9650 and 4870x2?? Also is the pump good enough for this loop?

Thanks in Advance!!
__________________
Qx9650 @ 4.00ghz | Asus Maximus Formula x38 w/ Rampage Bios |2x2GB OCZ Reapers
ATI HD4870x2 | WD RaptorX 150gb + 3*500GB + 1000gb | PCP&C 750W Silencer
X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty | Logitech Z-5500 | HD555
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 11:35 AM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

It works but I suggest 2 loops, 1 for the cpu and 1 for the 4870x2 then you will have optimal temps. You need just a extra pump and reservoir to get this.
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 11:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

i considered doing 2 loops instead of one but i dont think i can fit that much into my case. :(
__________________
Qx9650 @ 4.00ghz | Asus Maximus Formula x38 w/ Rampage Bios |2x2GB OCZ Reapers
ATI HD4870x2 | WD RaptorX 150gb + 3*500GB + 1000gb | PCP&C 750W Silencer
X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty | Logitech Z-5500 | HD555
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 12:50 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,747
Default

Plenty of space....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 01:23 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

If you're using the Thermochill rads, be aware that they use a different fitting size, and don't come with the fittings. You'll want G3/8 fittings in this case, two for each rad. Personally, I recommend THESE guys, as they're very well designed and user-friendly.

Also, hose clamps are hose clamps. You can just as easily grab a handful from your local hardware/automotive store, possibly for less. No need to pay a premium for the Feser ones.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 01:56 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

You can fit two loops in that case.

Either using T-lines or a dual chambered single-drivebay res.

I'm going to be building one with 3 loops soon (if I can ever get all the gear together )

You might want to think about smaller tubing

I'm using 3/8"-1/2"

But you could also go 3/8"-5/8"

It will help.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 03:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,726

My System Specs

Default

Have you done much research on your choice of res? I've never used a 5 1/4 bay res myself, but I know some folks are dead set against them.... might be worth your while to do some digging to see if you can find out why.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 03:43 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

5 1/4 bay reservoirs are great.

Some people won't use acrylic. Also, the ones that are front filled can be hard to use.

You might want to think about the MCP355. The smaller footprint will help as things get tight down below in the H2GO

Then you could check out the reservoir top from XSPC for that pump. I think it will fit in the bottom of that case. (Maybe not. I'd measure it.)
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 03:46 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Some 5 1/4" res' are useless, that's why. No baffles, improper inlet/outlet positioning, poor acrylic sealing, prone to leaking... they have a colourful history, unfortunately. A few years ago, I know the DD reservoirs were a little spotty, but I haven't heard anything either way more recently. They're usually pretty good at fixing problems, so I can't imagine the problem's stuck around this long.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 03:49 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

I agree on the dual loop suggestions here, you'll have plenty of space in that case. Other than that your part choices are good, I have no arguments with the parts you've chosen. (not that it should matter what I think ) I do have a few suggestions for your loop/loops thou

If you do dual loops

Loop 1
Res -> Rad1 -> Pump -> CPU -> -> Res

Loop 2
Res -> Rad2 -> Pump -> GPU -> Res

If you do single loop

Res -> Rad1 -> Rad2 -> Pump -> CPU -> GPU -> Res

Modify as much as you need in order to obtain least amount of tubing/ease of fit in case. Just follow these few basic rules, never connect the pump outlet to a rad or res, if you do, your throwing away turbulence creating head (remember, head is good, you never wanna lose head, direct the head toward your blocks which can benefit from it). 2nd, make the loop as simple as you can(ie use the least amount of tubing possible). Follow those 2 rules when putting together a loop and you'll have a great performing loop!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes