Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 03:57 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I was under the impression that connecting the pump to the rad first was a good thing, because it would thus be delivering the coolest water to the blocks.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 04:00 PM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
I was under the impression that connecting the pump to the rad first was a good thing, because it would thus be delivering the coolest water to the blocks.
Correct, the best way is RES -> PUMP -> RAD -> BLOCKS
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 04:13 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Head is head is head. All else being equal, I've never seen evidence to suggest that the order of components affects the pressure drop across each one, and it's the pressure drop, not the absolute pressure that allows the turbulence to happen. That said, the temperature difference between the fluid going in and out of a block is pretty minimal too, as long as you're maintaining good flow rates. So if putting the rad elsewhere in the loop makes things a lot simpler, I wouldn't sweat it too much.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 04:55 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
I was under the impression that connecting the pump to the rad first was a good thing, because it would thus be delivering the coolest water to the blocks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xilikon View Post
Correct, the best way is RES -> PUMP -> RAD -> BLOCKS
Personal experience says otherwise, just do me a favour, and don't EVER hook the pumps outlet to the res. You lose all head pressure that way

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Head is head is head. All else being equal, I've never seen evidence to suggest that the order of components affects the pressure drop across each one, and it's the pressure drop, not the absolute pressure that allows the turbulence to happen. That said, the temperature difference between the fluid going in and out of a block is pretty minimal too, as long as you're maintaining good flow rates. So if putting the rad elsewhere in the loop makes things a lot simpler, I wouldn't sweat it too much.
I'll bend on this one, as long as your not doing something stupid such as connecting the output of the pump to a res(therefore losing effectively ALL the head), you *shouldn't* lose enough pressure to matter(with in a few C's anyways). ALWAYS go for the least amount of tubing/easy of routing possible.

Like I said personal experience says otherwise but that may have something to do with the fact that I'm rocking on a Cather Storm G5, which is a very head hungry block.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 04:57 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Well, obviously never hook the pump outlet to the Res!!

But hooking it to the rad should be ok.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 05:17 PM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

I never said to hook it to the outlet... However, always put a reservoir to feed the pump INLET or it will get starved and risk damaging the pump.
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2008, 05:34 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xilikon View Post
I never said to hook it to the outlet... However, always put a reservoir to feed the pump INLET or it will get starved and risk damaging the pump.
You also never said anything about a res, I was agreeing with your points silly .

That said, yes, you wanna ensure a pump is always filled with water when you turn it on, otherwise you risk damaging the pump very easily.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes