Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 04:03 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default Swiftech radbox

Anybody got any detailed pic's of the installation? None of the bolts supplied seem to be the correct lenght and I guess various spacers means 4 of the exact same ones
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 05:08 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a hack saw or a dremel tool that you could cut the screws with- taht's what I did and it was no problem- just be careful putting the nut back on the first time so you don't cross thread it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 05:27 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,494

My System Specs

Default

Best tool for cutting the screws is a set of wire strippers with the screw cutting feature (if it's got thread holes, it's designed to cut the screw).

As for a picture... this one's not too bad.....

__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 05:27 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I was figuring i'd have to use the Dremel. Probably going to have to find longer bolts too, I've got an Ultra Kaze for my exhaust.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 05:41 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,494

My System Specs

Default

If anybody is wondering what I mean by a "screw cutting feature" on a set of wire strippers here's a couple of pics.....



__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 06:16 AM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

When cutting the end off any screw/bolt put the nut on first then cut the screw & back the nut off all the way. It'll fix the end for you so it won't be hard to put it back on rather than fighting with it had you not had it on there before cutting. Learned this long ago for truck bolts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes