Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default Swiftech Rad fine?

Hay guys....


I cant for the life of me get my single 120 rad to stop leaking. Its mounted outside the case and I've tried tape, and silicon and noting seems to stop the slow trickle. To be honest, its not even worth mentioning because the leak is sooooo slow. Its like a single drop over a weeks period of usage.

BUt.... if I replace it. I would like to get a dual rad. I have minimal funds so my question is, are the 50 dollar swiftech rads perfectly fine for cooling 2 8800 gtx's or should I save up for the fesser or blakc ice ectreme rads?? Ill separate the loops, so the CPu willl be on its own, and the GPu's on the new one.....

Seems i save 50 bucks by going with the swiftech rad opposed to the other models out there...

thanks...
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:30 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

A MCR220 would be fine I'd think for dual 8800GTX's though if you wanted lower temperatures, then go with the MCR320.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:49 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

MCR320~!!!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 04:29 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

So you have another rad that the cpu is on then? If you have the space for the little bit extra money get the MCR320 but if you don't the best bang for your buck is the MCR220. I've learned quite abit over the last little while & the Black ice rads are only good with high static fans. 38mm at the least thick. Stick to the thinner swiftech rads or make the big jump(double the money) & go with thermochill but bang for buck wouldn't really be worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 10:47 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper View Post
So you have another rad that the cpu is on then? If you have the space for the little bit extra money get the MCR320 but if you don't the best bang for your buck is the MCR220. I've learned quite abit over the last little while & the Black ice rads are only good with high static fans. 38mm at the least thick. Stick to the thinner swiftech rads or make the big jump(double the money) & go with thermochill but bang for buck wouldn't really be worth it.

Yes. Right now I have the loop of...

Dual rad, single rad, Cpu, Gpu1, Gpu2 rez, pump.

If I get the bigger rad then Ill redo the loop to this...

Dual rad, cpu, dual rad, gpu1,gpu2, rez, pump.

IM assuming I will only see a decrease in temps in my last gpu with the separate looped system and the dual rad.

If I got the triple, would I still do the second loop (in red)
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 12:12 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Have you tired doubling up the o-rings on the barbs ?

I was having a similar issue, using Bitspower fittings on Swiftech components, and doubling up on o-rings fixed the problem.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 12:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
MCR320~!!!
Hey it is you Frosty!!...

There's you answer
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 10:02 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

hello hello!!! :)...


does anyone know if mounting a triple rad to the rear of any case causes a problem... the thing looks huge!!!!!


id be worried if it covers the inlet holes...... then what??? Or do I shift the whole thing up 1 fan spacing and use the rad box, mounting it to the middle fan and not the top? Id just have 1/3 of the rad sticking up above the case (basically take the photo and postion the rad up on complete fan spacing...). Would that look funny?

__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 10:24 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

That's my old 120 I sold you, and it never leaked. The only reason why it would is that you are using 90* elbows, and those may not be torqued enough to prevent any leaks - since you need them pointing down.

A second o-ring as suggested by Synth would work.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 10:29 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Youll be fine mounting it to the top rad box, you can mount a couple of brackets to support the bottom of the rad. Also have you looked at Frankys rad mount-he used brackets to mount the radiator at the back of the case at a 90 degree angle to the exhausts.

I borrowed this idea for mounting my triple as well, also have a 220 bolted straight to the exhaust- 2 rads at the back-could do with a bigger case.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes