Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 04:20 PM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 158
Default System installed !

Installed my water cooling stuff this evening did not run it since I don't have any distilled water. Heres a couple pics please let me know if I did any thing wrong. The loop goes a follows.









__________________
AMD FX9590
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
16 GB DDR3
2x MSI GTX780 Lightning
1200W Antec PSU
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 04:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

You had a lot of space inside the case for the pump really.. Which would also avoid the tube crossing you have near the cpu.

But nonetheless, looks kool!!
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 04:36 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Looks like the loop is set up just fine in terms of overall configuration. As Miggs said it would look a bit cleaner if you brought the pump into the case but its well thought out all the same.

I quite like the way you've mounted the rad.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 04:44 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Yeah, I like that rad mounting too. Technically, you're getting slightly cooler air this way, rather than grabbing what's leaving the case, and it'll be a cinch to vacuum dust out if it becomes a problem. And if you ever feel like a little more cooling power, just bolt a couple of fans on the front of the rad for a push-pull setup.

Watch the opening that your tubes are going through - some of those edges look a little sharp - wouldn't want them to rub through your tubing over time. You might have problems with the pump trying to make the case vibrate. If so, some sort of soft-mounting might be necessary, but hopefully not.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 04:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Yeah I would also personally use an external rad, I like the idea of cool fresh air hitting the rad first, slightly better temps, and the dust issue..

I forgot to mention, you might want to put something on edges of the hole you cut in the fan position to pass tubing, sharp edges, even put some electronic tape..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 04:58 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

I, like everyone else, think thats an awsome way to mount your rad. Would never have thought of it, but its a sweet way of doing it. There is room for the pump inside, but to each his own, and its not too bad.. looks like its bolted on damn good
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 05:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Now you made me jealous... I'm coming to steal that case of you.. oh hold on.. maybe I'll steal Phobe's MM :P ^^
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 05:35 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Neat idea, but looks like bleeding/getting the air bubbles out is not going to be an easy task.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 06:26 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Bah try bleeding an MM case , and this will be nothing compared to it :)

Huh, I never had a mcp 655 but where is the inlet and the outlet ?

I tough the outlet was the top of the pump ? If so, filling it will be a bit of a PITA.

It is easier, anyway for me, to have the T at the inlet of the pump when innitially filling it. The way I think your pump works, it wont have water to push it up when you fill it.

Owner of mcp655, tell me what you think ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; October 8, 2008 at 06:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 06:47 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

No worries, he's got the T-line on the pump's inlet.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes